PDA

View Full Version : One hander

Double G
05-29-2006, 01:36 PM
I am trying to get a one hsnder going for more versatility but I suck at it. It keeps going in the net or OUT VERTICALLY. The technique I am trying to get is Federer's but I still suck. Tips?

tonysk83
05-29-2006, 01:42 PM
My 1hbh improved when I started playing with more flexible racquets. Once I switched to a midsize it also helped my 1hbh aswell. I don't know the technique of the 1hbh to help you enough, but I do know whiching to a more flexible, thinner beam frame and a midsize racquet helped my 1hbh.

Bungalo Bill
05-29-2006, 02:24 PM
I am trying to get a one hsnder going for more versatility but I suck at it. It keeps going in the net or OUT VERTICALLY. The technique I am trying to get is Federer's but I still suck. Tips?

Federer is good but if you are trying to get it down, I would suggest not using so much forearm supination and simply maintaining the long L through your shot until you get your timing down.

Also, the most critical area in the arm technique to learn about the onehander is the hitting hand pattern the pros make. You need to see it, copy it, and practice it on EVERY ball until it is second nature.

Amone
05-29-2006, 04:04 PM
As usual, you make quite defensible and interesting comments, Bill. I'll just throw in my personal experience, even though I'm far from a good player.

I picked up my one-hander in one day, less than two hours even. I was just hitting off a ball machine, when a coach at the "club"-- for I would hardly call the YMCA a club-- I was practicing at just said to hit with a lower, more level backswing, and brush up on the ball. What I mean to say is, just have a coach watch you; the odds are really good they'll be able to help you more than anyone here.

Bungalo Bill
05-29-2006, 04:12 PM
As usual, you make quite defensible and interesting comments, Bill. I'll just throw in my personal experience, even though I'm far from a good player.