PDA

View Full Version : Switching from Pro Kennex Ceramic Ace, Help!

wt888usa
07-06-2004, 09:18 AM
Hi, I'm 5'10", 160 lbs., and 21 years old. I started learning tennis in high school with a Prince Triple Threat Ring, which was nice at the time since it gave me extra length, extra power, and extra head size. However, after awhile, my swing developed and I had to find more control, so I switched to my dad's old Pro Kennex Ceramic Ace, 90 sq. in. It's been fine for me, however, I do have some problems with it. Sometimes it seems a bit heavy at the net and I can't get the racket in position fast enough, and sometimes, when I'm rallying from the baseline, I hit the ball a little late.

My strengths are my forehand, and my serve when it gets in, so I can generate a lot of power myself. My backhand is kind of weak, and my serve percentage is kind of low. I also don't have a lot of control, I always seem to hit the ball just outside the baseline, or right at the top of the net. I also am not hitting much spin with the Ceramic Ace.

The only stats I know for the Ceramic Ace are 16x19, 90 sq. in.. Maybe someone else knows other info like weight, swingweight, stiffness, balance, etc.? It currently has Gamma Stinger hybrid strings on it.

I'm looking for a replacement, that can give me the control of the Ceramic Ace, but that's a lot lighter, and comfortable, and probably a little bit more power? Maybe you guys can give me suggestions. I'm looking to spend no more than $180 I think. The rackets I'm looking into are:

Prince TT Graphite - OS, MP, MID
Prince Tour NXG - OS, MP, MID
Prince TT Hornet - OS, MP
Prince Tungsten Hornet - OS, MP
Prince TT Rebel
Prince TT Warrior - OS, MP
Prince Tour Diablo - MP, MID
Head i.Prestige - MP, MID
Head LM Prestige - MP, MID
Head Ti Radical - OS, MP
Head i.Radical - OS, MP
Head LM Radical - OS, MP
Wilson ProStaff Tour - MP
Wilson ProStaff ROK - MP, MID