PDA

View Full Version : Should a stringer know?

lenosucks
07-06-2004, 04:05 PM
Should a stringer know if a racquet is one piece or two-piece? And if a two piece racket is strung as one piece, does it really make a difference?

mr. stevo
07-06-2004, 04:56 PM
i think it's more of a stringer's preference then the racket's reccommended method/style. but that's just my 2 cents, i'm a newb stringer. Is there such thing as a racket that is meant to only be strung for one style?

lenosucks
07-06-2004, 04:58 PM
well when you look on the specs for a racquet on this site, it tells you whether it's one piece or two piece stringing

coachrick
07-06-2004, 07:01 PM
If the stringer is not sure, he/she should check the mfg recommendation. Usually, the two piece method is used to allow the cross strings to be installed from top to bottom of the stringbed. It is possible to use various around-the-world methods to string a two-piece recommended frame with only one piece. Wouldn't shoot the stringer just yet...

David Pavlich
07-06-2004, 07:02 PM
As has been typed so many times before, the conventional wisdom and the fear of cracking a frame dictates that the crosses are strung from head to throat.

With that in mind, you will find most places that have stringing patterns will not show instructions for one piece stringing for frames that have the mains ending at the throat. Wilson is the exception to this generality, however.

The reason for this is because the weakest area of a frame is the upper hoop. Stringing the crosses from the throat up puts a lot of stress on the upper hoop. Therefore, the manufacturers show only a 2 piece pattern.

Of course, they don't mention stringing one piece using the ubiquitous Around The World pattern, which allows a stringer to do a 1 piece job AND start the crosses at the head.

For info on ATW, check throughout this section. It's everywhere!

David

Gaines Hillix
07-07-2004, 07:24 AM