PDA

View Full Version : Is it "Na Li" or is it "Li Na"?

MasterTS
07-04-2006, 03:53 PM
The ESPN commentators keep calling her Li Na as if Li is her first name and Na is her last name.. but on the tournament draws and scores they list Li vs Cljisters etc...

Is this some asian spelling reverse rule or are the ESPN commentators idiots as always?

KBalla08
07-04-2006, 03:55 PM
same thing with yao ming in the nba, they write their last names 1st i think, so her last name is Li, but she writes it first... thats what ive learned here in houston having yao on the rockets lol

skip1969
07-04-2006, 03:58 PM
yeah, i agree. i'm no expert and i'm not chinese, but the surname is first, given name second. so yao ming is mr. yao and na li should be ms. na.

str33t
07-04-2006, 03:59 PM
its just because espn sucks :rolleyes:

skip1969
07-04-2006, 04:07 PM
hmmm . . . well, it's ms. na when you address her, i suppose. but she would write na li.

but yeah, espn still sucks.;)

Marat Safinator
07-04-2006, 04:11 PM
Na Li is the correct way.

pached
07-04-2006, 04:59 PM
Na Li is the correct western way to say it. East Asians put the surname (family name aka last name) before the given name (first name), so the commentators were trying to be politically correct when saying Li Na. They wouldn't say Ms. Na though. It would still be Ms. Li.

pound cat
07-04-2006, 05:28 PM
the next lesson willl be in the correct pronunciation of the Russian women's names as in Kuz NETsova, SharAH pova,

highsierra
07-04-2006, 05:30 PM
Li is a very common Chinese surname, it's as common as last names like Smith in English. Na is the given name.

I don't think the ESPN commentators were even aware what they're saying to be politically correct or otherwise. I guess Chinese would say western names in either order too, and in Chinese!

Buzzlightyear
07-04-2006, 05:32 PM