PDA

View Full Version : Lost about shoes, need recommendation..

tennis_nerd22
07-15-2006, 09:51 AM
hey all,

i started playing tennis last year, and in may, i bought my first pair of real tennis shoes. i got them from another city when on vacation.

anyways, they were the nike zoom vapor 3's. i loved the look and there were rave reviews about them on these boards. but im finding now that its summer and ive started playing 3-6 hours a day, when i come home, my big toe(s) are very sore. they get blisters a lot, and quite often, the skin is peeled. so if this continues happening, even with thicker socks, ill ask my parents if i can get a new pair of shoes.

the problem is, im completely lost as to what to try. durability isnt as much of a factor to me as comfort. i loved the nice snug fit of the vapor 3's, just the forefoot cushioning (if thats the word?) was a problem. i also liked the ankle support. so what shoe would you guys recommend that has overall more cushioning, but it still snug. duarbility is not a problem.

im leaning more towards the nike breathe free II's or the barricade III's...

thanks for the help

(btw i did search, but there's lots of different opinions and im a bit confused. btw im 5'4", 120 lbs, im not sure if my feet are wide or narrow, but i think closer to narrow, and i play on both hard and clay courts every week)

Mr.Federer
07-15-2006, 10:20 AM
Try some yonex sht-305's...they're amazing.

Dopke
07-15-2006, 10:21 AM
Did you remember to "break-in" the shoes? As in.. like slowly getting into them, by first just walking around in them for a couple days before actually going on the court with them?

tennis_nerd22
07-15-2006, 11:55 AM
Did you remember to "break-in" the shoes? As in.. like slowly getting into them, by first just walking around in them for a couple days before actually going on the court with them?