PDA

View Full Version : Hey Computer Nerds

MegacedU
07-21-2006, 07:27 AM
So I bought my new Macbook yesterday and so far I'm loving it. However, I can't get AIM or MSN to install. According to my computer, there's no application for it to use. Any suggestions? It's driving me crazy!

mabuhay
07-21-2006, 07:44 AM
So I bought my new Macbook yesterday and so far I'm loving it. However, I can't get AIM or MSN to install. According to my computer, there's no application for it to use. Any suggestions? It's driving me crazy!

search "aim" or "msn" on your computer. delete whatever file you find. reinstall the application.

FeŮa14
07-21-2006, 07:44 AM
I'm not too good with computers but I always thought you couldn't get AIM or MSN with Apple as they are different companies?

Maybe try to install one of the older versions of MSN, say MSN Messenger 5 for Mac.

HyperHorse
07-21-2006, 07:45 AM
buy a PC. :-D

mabuhay
07-21-2006, 07:56 AM
buy a PC. :-D
she doesn't have to if she has an Intel-Based Mac.
http://www.apple.com/macosx/bootcamp/

matchpoint
07-21-2006, 09:56 AM
I thought macs are supposed to be user friendly?

Why do they run windows and office on macs when they are supposed to have better software and operating system?

SrGuapo
07-21-2006, 10:05 AM
The software (And recently hardware) for Mac is completely different than for PC. OSX (and its predecessors) are derived from Linux/BSD, while windows is a separate beast. You will have to make sure than any software you download/buy is 100% mac compatible. If a program like AIM/MSN has a mac version, it will be a separate download.

mucat
07-21-2006, 10:07 AM
Ha, a Macbook, enuff sayin...

equinox
07-21-2006, 10:08 AM
Just use the search function of http://www.versiontracker.com to look for mac software.

Here's a wikipedia listing of mac chat clients.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Mac_OS-only_instant_messengers

For msn you could try Adium.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adium
http://adiumx.com/

Or try out Fire.