PDA

View Full Version : Wrist pain after raquet switch

rustsurfr
08-16-2006, 04:32 AM
I have been searching around the message boards and have found a ton of lengthy articles about causes of wrist pain. However i am looking for some somewhat short advice if anyone has it. I have been playing with my aeropro drive for about 4 or 5 months now with aches and pains from spot to spot, and time to time. But nothing consistent or severe. Recently i have been demoing the prince tour diablo midsize for almost 2 weeks. The past two times using it, a lot of wrist pain has developed. I have a few theories that i would like ether disproved or backed up. A) The weight change. Maybe i need to make my wrists stronger. B) Grip size on the demo was a 4-3/8. I have quite large hands. C) My technique is too wristy. I hit with a grip that is pretty western, id say more than half way between semi western and full. Please let me know what you guys think.

Thanks, Rob

(yes i realize my headline shows "racquet" spelled wrong. Sorry i don't think i can edit that)

kinsella
08-16-2006, 05:49 AM
Any time you make a significant change in your racquet, there is a risk of joint pain or injury, as your swing mechanics adjust to the new stick. "Significant" includes up or down an ounce, up or down 10 pts of swingweight, up or down 4-5 pts in stiffness. I have not heard of wrist pain from using the wrong grip size, but that makes sense, too, because you need to change what you were doing to hit the ball. You can put another replacement grip on the stick to bring it up to 4 1/2+, but it is hard to get an accurate demo using the wrong grip size or using a racquet with two grips on it.

Joint pain can happen when you move from a racquet that is "hard" on joints to one that is considered "friendly" to joints. Joint pain is a frequent complaint of players demo-ing racquets, but often it is not the racquet, just the change. Usually time takes care of the problem, but skip marathon hitting until then.