PDA

View Full Version : Braden Question for Tennismastery and Andy Fitzell?

jmoore1
08-25-2006, 05:42 AM
Hey Guy's:
I have been playing for 20 years and have used the Braden books and videos as gospel for most of them. I don't want to discredit Vic Braden because I believe many of his teaching techniques are solid. However, I would like both of your opinions on two primary Braden techniques that have really limited my game. Number one...Braden advocates switching grips (Eastern forehand to Eastern backhand) when volleying? Virtually no top pros do this?? I changed grips at the net for many years and always had a weak net game until finally working with a pro who convinced me to use a continental grip...years later my net game is very strong and I have much more confidence at the net. How do you both feel about this issue?
Number two...Braden advocates a "fixed wrist" when hitting a topspin backhand. I don't believe this is bad advice per say...but what screwed me up was the insistence that you keep the wrist fixed and never let the racquet head drop below the wrist when driving up through the ball?? Vic says to only get under the ball by bending the knees?? However, with the advent of so much high speed footage of top pros hitting topsin backhands...its clear to see that virtually all of them allow the racquet head to drop below the wrist as the explode up through the ball when hitting a topspin backhand. The new pro I've been working with taught me to relax the wrist more and allow the racquet head to drop below the ball...and I'm now hitting topspin backhand that explode up off the court and drive my opponents crazy! How do you both feel about this issue?
Again...I don't want to bash Vic, but some of his teaching techniques don't fit the modern game and can slow the progression of getting to advanced levels.

Bungalo Bill
08-25-2006, 05:54 AM