PDA

View Full Version : a question on tennis match rule


tennis_hand
08-28-2006, 07:13 PM
If you hit a return ball that travels outside of the net pole and below the net chord, but lands in the opponent's court, is that considered out or in?

deluxe
08-28-2006, 07:19 PM
In!

!!!Extra text to make the stupid system accept my comment!!!

Rickson
08-28-2006, 07:19 PM
If you hit a return ball that travels outside of the net pole and below the net chord, but lands in the opponent's court, is that considered out or in?
You mean the famous Federer around the post shot? Of course it's legal as long as you don't touch the net or the post. The ball doesn't have to fly over the net to be a legal shot, but the reason you send balls over the net and not around it is because you'll never get an opportunity to hit an atnp shot in your lifetime and if you do, consider yourself lucky.

tennis_hand
08-28-2006, 10:47 PM
Got it. thanks. :)