PDA

View Full Version : JohnYandell , AndyFitzell ,Tennismastery ,JCo872 Other Video experts.

Mike Cottrill
08-29-2006, 09:29 AM
JohnYandell (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/member.php?u=7267) vbmenu_register("postmenu_1102554", true); , AndyFitzell (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/member.php?u=25121) vbmenu_register("postmenu_1100757", true); ,Tennismastery (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/member.php?u=12393) vbmenu_register("postmenu_1101359", true); ,JCo872 (http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/member.php?u=8363) vbmenu_register("postmenu_960730", true); Other Video experts.

This post is in reference to John’s interest in 3D data. My question is similar but related to 30 fps video versus high speed video like 240 fps. As a layman, I would like to know what you see from high speed video that you can not see from 30fps. What key mechanic flaws or inefficiencies appear? Willing to participate?

Thanks
Mike

MasterTS
08-29-2006, 09:43 AM
In layman's terms.. What the hell are you talking about!!!!

JohnYandell
08-29-2006, 10:43 AM
Mike,

You can see a lot in 30 frames. The general shape of the strokes, the unit turn and full turn, the size and general shape of the backswings, the footwork, the path of the followthrough and the wrap, the recovery steps.

The problem is trying to see what happens around the contact, and the shape of the hitting arm on the forward swing as it moves into the contact.

These are some of the most disputed points in teaching. You have some coaches on the internet who use a lot of video in their analyzes, (not you BB, not you...) but have based their conclusions only on 30 frame video and have misinterpreted things because of it, in my opinion.