PDA

View Full Version : strange forehand problem

raiden031
09-01-2006, 08:52 AM
I have been playing off and on for a few years and I would consider myself either a strong 3.0 to a weak 3.5 (I have beaten players up to 3.5 but usually would lose). I need help because I have this bizarre forehand problem that I just can't shake off.

Sometimes my forehand is completely lost for the first 20 minutes or so of playing. This is so strange as it feels like I have absolutely no coordination and cannot generate any top spin and its humiliating because during warm ups the ball is flying all over the place and hitting the fence. Always after the first few games of the match it comes back and is solid again. When my forehand is solid I have decent control and alot of top spin (Western grip) although I have a hard time hitting 'winner' shots consistently. It baffles me why I have this rediculous problem.

I have never met someone who has had this problem and I hate having to explain to my opponent that I don't completely suck when we first start hitting around.

emcee
09-01-2006, 01:05 PM
Maybe you should warm up more slowly? I don't know if this is what you're doing but if you're trying to wack the ball from the beginning, your shot might not properly defrost.

habib
09-01-2006, 01:33 PM
I have never met someone who has had this problem and I hate having to explain to my opponent that I don't completely suck when we first start hitting around.

Easy. Ask your opponent to only hit it to your backhand side during warmus. If questioned, explain that you actually don't know how to hit a forehand. Continue running around your forehand to hit backhands into the 3rd or 4th game of the set. And then - Surprise, jackass!

tennistim777
09-01-2006, 02:30 PM