PDA

View Full Version : I'm offically an Assistant Coach- Advice?

Newberry
09-02-2006, 10:01 AM
After playing at the local high school court all summer, helping a lot of the kids there with the basics (and fixing the schools ball machine!), the head coach has asked me to be an assistant and help out with the schools team.

I'm a teacher in the county system, but I teach CAD at the vocational school, and do not teach at the high school. Helping out would mean losing a couple of evenings every week ,driving a little out of the way(and working pro bono).

My problem is I've never had a coach in my life, only read about tennis, watched a lot of games and videos, and, these days, spent a lot of time browsing the forums here. I played a lot in highschool, but my school did not even have a team. We just played for the fun of it and naturally found the strokes we used.

The current coach is already suggesting me to be the head coach when she retires in a couple of years, but I would have a lot of work to do to feel prepared for such a position.

Any suggestions for getting ready? I'd like to be more of a help than a hindrance as an assistant.

nickybol
09-02-2006, 10:10 AM
Read some books about coaching in general. I don`t mean tennis, but coaching, you know the difference. Learn by doing! Could you describe what your job will be like?

migjam
09-02-2006, 11:06 AM
The "Tennis in a Can" program, by Bollettieri, is a very good program. It contains drills, practice format etc.. It's worth the investment

tennisnj
09-02-2006, 11:21 AM