PDA

View Full Version : My racquet setup, and how to find its swingweight?

nalbandian_fan
09-11-2006, 03:37 PM
I recently switched from my Yonex RDS 001 MPs to the Fischer Pro No.1s. I initially was not very happy with the fischers because they felt out of control and unstable. I'm new to racquet customization, so after doing some reading in the forums and in the TW Learning center, i decided i would try adding 10 grams at 9 and 3. The results were amazing on my serve, backhands, and volleys... but it took away speed and spin from my forehand. As I got used to it, my forehand came back just as it was with my old racquets. Any comments or suggestions on my setup would be appreciated. I'm also interested in calculating my swingweight, but don't know how.

Here are the stock specs for the racquet:
# Weight: 12oz / 340g strung
# Balance: 9 points head light

the new static weight should be 350g strung, and im unsure of what its balance is.

FitzRoy
09-11-2006, 05:48 PM
Steve H. set up an excellent Microsoft Excel spreadsheet for calculating balance point and swingweight when customizing. The thread on it is here:

http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=117046

As a rough guess I'd say you've probably increased the swingweight by at least 15 kg-cm^2, maybe more, with a shift in balance point somewhere between 1-2 pts more head heavy than stock.

It sounded a little odd when you said your forehand seemed to have less power at first, but it could be that you were late with your swings since you weren't used to the higher swingweight. No surprise at all that you like the volleys better, as adding weight at 3 and 9 increases the stability on volleys in several ways.

nalbandian_fan
09-11-2006, 08:12 PM