PDA

View Full Version : Oversize Vs. Normal

HELPTennis
09-25-2006, 01:28 PM
What is the main difference in oversize and normal besides the size obv.
I am new to the game and was looking to get a raquet.

Bryant
09-25-2006, 01:37 PM
Oversize raquets have a larger sweet spot, thus provide more power than a "normal" raquet. They also are more forgiving than a players raquet if you hit off-center.

Tennis Man
09-25-2006, 02:03 PM
There is no such thing as "normal":

Midsize (Mid): 85-92 sq inch/548 - 593 sq cm
Midplus (MP): 93-105/ 594-677
Oversize (OS): 106-115/ 678-741
Super OS: 116+/742+ stay away from SOS signal :)

If you are new, start with MP (closer to 100) and if you are naturally good you may try mid-size (90-93) ... Then the fun will begin.

Tennis Man
09-25-2006, 02:36 PM
here my "unintentional" chart for you (I just had them arranged by head size)

http://i10.tinypic.com/4cdk1mh.jpg

netman
09-25-2006, 03:03 PM
Ignore the advice that a smaller head will make you a better player. It is pure BS. Andre Agassi is considered the best pure ball striker in the game and he uses an OS. Try a variety of sizes and go with the one that feels the most comfortable to you and rewards you with the most consistent shots. That is what will keep you interested in the game.

-k-

netman
09-25-2006, 03:04 PM
Rafaello, cool graphic.

-k-

Tennis Man
09-25-2006, 03:07 PM
Ignore the advice that a smaller head will make you a better player. It is pure BS. Andre Agassi is considered the best pure ball striker in the game and he uses an OS. Try a variety of sizes and go with the one that feels the most comfortable to you and rewards you with the most consistent shots. That is what will keep you interested in the game.

-k-

That's just my 2 cents.

Rafaello, cool graphic.

-k-

Thanks.

nikolaih
09-25-2006, 03:23 PM