PDA

View Full Version : noob looking for advice... demo'ed some racquets

shiyan
09-27-2006, 02:11 PM
Hi everyone, this seems like a great board, hope you can help a noob out.

My question comes down to whether I should buy a racquet that I play well with now (power oriented), or a racquet which forces me to concentrate on my technique to play well (control oriented).

some background info:

I started playing this summer, had about 50 hours of coaching so far. I think I'm at NTRP 3.0 or so.

I demo'ed a bunch of racquets that my coach suggested (he also works at the local sports megastore Decathlon's tennis department), and am left with 2~3 racquets to choose from.

Babolat Drive Z Lite: http://www.tennis-warehouse.com/descpageRCBAB-ZLITE.html

This seems to be the racquet with which I currently play the best with. Due to my sometimes inadequate swing preparation I end up with a short swing, but it's not a big problem with this racquet due to how much power it has.

It seems very stiff and head heavy, I think I'd like it more if some weight was added to make it more balanced. Is that what the Pure Drive Team is like? I saw some Pure Drive Team racquets selling at 30% discount...

Wilson nFury MP: http://www.tennis-warehouse.com/descpageRCWILSON-NFURY.html

I seem to have a lot more control and feel with this racquet compared to the Babolat, but it is much lower in power. I currently hit a lot of balls short, probably due to my inadequate swing.

I like both racquets, although if I had to play a match right now I'd take the Babolat. Another racquet I liked was the Head FXP Radical Team, which was probably somewhere between the 2.

I'm wondering which racquet I should choose... thanks a lot for your input!

Milano
09-27-2006, 04:26 PM