PDA

View Full Version : Opinions: Compare the Prince TT Bandit, Diablo XP, and TT Warrior

Jack the Hack
09-27-2006, 11:55 PM
For those of you that have tried all of these frames, could you please post your opinions and comparisons of how they perform in comparison to each other?

I have been using the TT Bandit in oversize for the past two years. I have modified my frames with lead tape at 3 and 9 o'clock for increased weight and stability, and I string them at 67 lbs using 18g Ashaway Kevlar in the mains and a soft 16g synthetic gut in the crosses to mute the power. I've played pretty well with this setup, but I don't like the way it serves and I don't have pinpoint control on my volley with those frames. I tried moving to the Head Flexpoint Fire for several weeks this summer because I got much more precision on the serves and volleys, but my groundies suffered from control issues. Anyway, to make a long story short, I am looking for a frame that might give me more on the serve and volley, but will keep my strokes intact.

I have been looking at different Prince frames that would seem to be close to a happy medium, and the Diablo XP (OS) and the TT Warrior (OS) might fit the job. I should mention that I am a 4.5 baseliner with a semi-western forehand and a two handed backhand. I like to run opponents all over the court to wear them out, but I am looking to improve my serve and volleying skills in order to win more efficiently and potentially move up a level.

The Warrior OS got a great review from TW, and I did play with a midsize version that felt really solid. However, I have also heard good things about the Diablo XP... so I'm curious about what others have to say about these frames in comparison to the Bandit.

Thanks! :)

Jack the Hack
09-27-2006, 11:58 PM
By the way, the only direct comparison of the Diablo XP oversize with the TT Bandit that I could find on the forum was this:

Diablo XP