PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible that crosses be under/over instead of over/under?

pmata814
09-30-2006, 10:18 PM
This might sound like a stupid question but I'm new to stringing and I would appreciate your help. I'm strining my Prince Tour Diablo MP 16x18 pattern. I'm doing 2-piece. I start my crosses over then under but on the next cross down I have to start under then over otherwise I'll end up with up with all the unders and overs parallel to each other on the two crosses. Is this OK or am I doing something wrong? I string my crosses from left to right, by the way, because I learned on a head racquet and that's what the diagram indicated. I don't know if this is standard procedure for all racquets though. Thanks in advance.

Midlife crisis
09-30-2006, 10:55 PM
This might sound like a stupid question but I'm new to stringing and I would appreciate your help. I'm strining my Prince Tour Diablo MP 16x18 pattern. I'm doing 2-piece. I start my crosses over then under but on the next cross down I have to start under then over otherwise I'll end up with up with all the unders and overs parallel to each other on the two crosses. Is this OK or am I doing something wrong? I string my crosses from left to right, by the way, because I learned on a head racquet and that's what the diagram indicated. I don't know if this is standard procedure for all racquets though. Thanks in advance.

If your first cross starts inside of the outermost main, which is typical of almost all racquets, then you will have to do as you describe. You need to string the crosses so they are opposite of the one above it, no matter whether or not that string goes over or under the first main string it crosses.

There were some racquets that had offset holes for the mains, in which case you'll need to follow the manufacturer's instructions for using either hard or soft crosses.

pmata814
09-30-2006, 11:05 PM