A little help with the rules please!!! :)

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by slicefox, Aug 20, 2007.

  1. slicefox

    slicefox Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,275
    Location:
    the hood
    Ok, got some scenarios here, tell me who gets the point if:

    1. Server serves a ball to the receiver, but in stead of landing in the correct box, it lands on the receiver's foot/hand/body. Who loses the point?

    2. Server serves a ball to the receiver, but in stead of landing in the correct box, it lands on the receiver's RACQUET, and then bounces somewhere in the net or out the side. Who loses the point?

    3. During a rally, Player 1 hits the ball really hard and touches Player 2's foot/hand/body, while Player 2's both feet are outside the court. Who loses the point?

    4. During a rally, Player 1 hits the ball really hard and touches Player 2's RAQUET and bounces somewhere random (net, outside, blah), while Player 2's both feet are outside the court. Who loses the point?
    4.B. Does it matter if Player 2 intentionally touched the ball with his Racquet?

    Thanks a ton guys. I would really appreciate all you help.
     
  2. koopa_troopa

    koopa_troopa Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Ohio
    If I remember the good ol tennis rules correctly:

    1/2. Receiver loses

    As soon as the server makes contact with the ball, the ball is in play. The ball has to land in the service box to remain in play. If the receiver touches the ball in any way before it lands, the receiver loses the point.

    3. Player 2 loses

    If a ball in play touches the body of a player, that player loses the point regardless of whether the ball is heading out. In other words, it has to land out before the player can touch it.

    4.Depends if it goes over the net into play (I don't quite understand your description.

    A player can hit a ball that is going out with his racquet, but it has to go in.


    In general it does not matter whether the player does it inentionally or not.
     
  3. WildVolley

    WildVolley Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,687
    I agree with koopa_troopa.

    4. From my reading of the rules, player 2 loses the point unless he hits the ball back into player 1's court - then the point continues.

    According to the rules, intentionality has nothing to do with it.

    You'll find a lot of players won't follow this rule in friendly matches. They'll catch or stop the ball when it is 5' or more out and then call it out. Personally, I don't make a big deal out of it, if it is clearly out.
     
  4. Rickson

    Rickson G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Location:
    USA
    In club tennis, the server because I always volley back long balls, but in a real match, the receiver loses.

    Same as #1.

    Receiver loses the point as he has to avoid touching that long ball, period.

    Player 2 must get the ball in if he wants to stay in the point, otherwise, he loses the point if he touches the ball and it goes out or net.
     
  5. slicefox

    slicefox Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,275
    Location:
    the hood
    That's weird. I've always heard that if you are standing outside the court and you volley it, it's your point.
     
  6. Rui

    Rui Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    392
    You've been listening to politicians, not tennis players.
     
  7. krz

    krz Professional

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    889
    Location:
    Concrete Jungle Where Dreams are Made
    if you touch the ball at all before it lands and it goes out technically you lose the point no matter what.

    but unless your in tournament any clearly out ball I just stop it so I don't have to chase it.
     
  8. FatCat

    FatCat New User

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    For me it depends who I'm playing with. If I'm playing with someone who's even remotely whiny, I let it bounce regardless of how lazy I'm feeling because it's just way easier that way.
     
  9. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,901
    Good, because I hate it when people catch it, it's kind of disrespectful to us "whiney" people.

    Just let it go out man, it's bad enough I hit it out, I dont need to watch you catch it just because you are lazy.
     
  10. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,901
    To address question 4)

    You can legally hit the ball back in the court no matter where you are standing and if your opponent fails to return it, it's your point. (obviously it's dumb to do that though if you are standing way behind the baseline since you could of just let it go)

    So obviously if you hit it and it doesnt go in the other court, you lose the point.
     
  11. psp2

    psp2 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,102
    ...from The Rules of Tennis. The bolded section should answer all your questions.

    24. PLAYER LOSES POINT (OLD 18, 19, 20 & 40)
    The point is lost if:
    a. The player serves two consecutive faults; or
    b. The player does not return the ball in play before it bounces twice
    consecutively; or
    c. The player returns the ball in play so that it hits the ground, or an
    object, outside the correct court; or
    d. The player returns the ball in play so that, before it bounces, it hits a
    permanent fixture; or
    e. The player deliberately carries or catches the ball in play on the racket
    or deliberately touches it with the racket more than once; or
    f. The player or the racket, whether in the player’s hand or not, or anything
    which the player is wearing or carrying touches the net, net
    posts/singles sticks, cord or metal cable, strap or band, or the opponent’s
    court at any time while the ball is in play; or
    g. The player hits the ball before it has passed the net; or
    h. The ball in play touches the player or anything that the player is
    wearing or carrying, except the racket; or

    i. The ball in play touches the racket when the player is not holding it; or
    j. The player deliberately and materially changes the shape of the racket
    when the ball is in play; or
    k. In doubles, both players touch the ball when returning it.

    Case 1: After the server has served a first service, the racket falls out of
    the server’s hand and touches the net before the ball has bounced. Is this a
    service fault, or does the server lose the point?
    Decision: The server loses the point because the racket touches the net
    while the ball is in play.

    Case 2: After the server has served a first service, the racket falls out of the
    server’s hand and touches the net after the ball has bounced outside the correct
    court. Is this a service fault, or does the server lose the point?
    Decision. This is a service fault because when the racket touched the net
    the ball was no longer in play.

    Case 3. In a doubles match, the receiver’s partner touches the net before
    the ball that has been served touches the ground outside the correct service
    court. What is the correct decision?
    Decision. The receiving team loses the point because the receiver’s partner
    touched the net while the ball was in play.

    Case 4: Does a player lose the point if an imaginary line in the extension of
    the net is crossed before or after hitting the ball?
    Decision: The player does not lose the point in either case provided the
    player does not touch the opponent’s court.

    Case 5. Is a player allowed to jump over the net into the opponent’s court
    while the ball is in play?
    Decision. No. The player loses the point.

    Case 6. A player throws the racket at the ball in play. Both the racket and
    the ball land in the court on the opponent’s side of the net and the opponent(s)
    is unable to reach the ball. Which player wins the point?
    Decision. The player who threw the racket at the ball loses the point.

    Case 7. A ball that has just been served hits the receiver or in doubles the
    receiver’s partner before it touches the ground. Which player wins the point?
    Decision. The server wins the point, unless it is a service let.


    Case 8. A player standing outside the court hits the ball or catches it before
    it bounces and claims the point because the ball was definitely going out
    of the correct court.
    Decision. The player loses the point, unless it is a good return, in which
    case the point continues.
     
  12. QuietDaze

    QuietDaze Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Atlanta

    1. I think it's a fault. I could be wrong though, I thought on the serve, the ball has to land in the service box first.

    2. Fault for same reason as #1.

    3 & 4 - I think player #2 gets the point.

    *now going to check the rules* lol
     
  13. spot

    spot Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,438
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I play on a couple courts where it is a huge pain in the ass to retreive a ball that goes over the fence- I always tell people in those matches that I am OK with them catching the ball before it bounces if it is clearly out.
     
  14. mucat

    mucat Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    king size donut bed
    How the heck can you get all of them wrong?
     
  15. predrag

    predrag Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    This is incorrect.

    In TENNIS, you Rickson lose those points. If you touch the ball before it lands
    out, the ball is not out.
    I don't know about brazilian jiu jitsu :) :)

    Regards, Predrag
     
  16. Narcissist

    Narcissist Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    478
    How close are you standing to return serve to ever do this :confused:
     
  17. r2473

    r2473 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,944
    That's funny. I play socially with a lot of people with the same attitude as you. Meaning, I will also catch the ball / hit the ball back before it lands, just to save myself the trouble of chasing it, speed up the match, or to not disrupt matches being played on other courts (if no fences / nets seperate the courts).

    People will often react just as I perceive you do; they shout out in an excited manner that they won the point because I touched it before it bounced. What do I do? I always say "Point is yours" or something like that. Next time it happens, I do the same thing and say "your point". Some people continue to take the points. Some people say, "OK, that was clearly out". I usually don't care much.

    In the end, when I play tennis socially, I don't play "lawyer ball". That is, I don't strictly interpret the rules so as to more or less "argue" points for myself. And, I don't mind people who do play "lawyer ball". I will give up those points 100% of the time.
     
  18. predrag

    predrag Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI

    Now this is so called social tennis.
    Meaning, people that are playing are really not playing tennis, just needed an
    excuse to get out of the house and do something.

    Clearly not my cup of tea.

    Regards, Predrag
     
  19. r2473

    r2473 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,944
    We should play sometime :wink:
     
  20. predrag

    predrag Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI

    Sure, any time you are in Ann Arbor.

    :)
     
  21. r2473

    r2473 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,944
    In all seriousness to Predrag, I just don't argue when I play (not often anyway). If it is not a tournament (what I call social), I just give up the points and keep playing. If it is a tournament, I just calmly call for an official.

    And no, I don't hit balls before they bounce out in a tournament (unless I know the guy and he doesn't mind).
     
  22. QuietDaze

    QuietDaze Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Atlanta
    LOL I only got 1/2 of them wrong, I meant to say for #3 and #4 that player 2 LOSES the point. I wasn't all that certain on #1 and #2 because I thought on the serve the ball had to actually land in the service box before it's in play.
     
  23. predrag

    predrag Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Well, I enjoy hitting practice.
    Also enjoy playing competitive tennis, too. Don't even mind getting my rear kicked.
    But if I am playing a set, then I am playing by the rules. Doing everything I
    can to win, within the rules.
    I am not going to claim the point if other guy calls the ball out and vollies it, but will ask him to let it bounce.

    Regards, Predrag
     
  24. mucat

    mucat Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    king size donut bed
    sure sure, there there... ;)
     
  25. bluestreak711

    bluestreak711 Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    North Carolina


    for questions 1 and 2 ...

    he serve must go in the correct service box or else it is a fault, if you double fault you forfeit the point...remember the point can't start until the serve lands in



    for questions 3 and 4.....

    first of all it does not matter where the players stand it only matters if the ball lands in or out...for instance the first player who is unable to land the ball back into play loses the point

    and if the ball makes contact with you anywhere on your body you lose the point no matter of the situation

    here are something i would like to add if any player touches the net anytime during the point that player forfeits the point
     
  26. slicefox

    slicefox Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,275
    Location:
    the hood
    The rules say that if the ball touches any outside object before hitting the ground, the player looses the point. I'm wondering if a racket is considered an "object", because in that case, if the racket is outside the court when it touches to ball, it will be a win.
     

Share This Page