Acceptable Doubles Behavior?

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by Mr.Lob, Sep 23, 2013.

  1. Mr.Lob

    Mr.Lob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,621
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    When I'm serving, in men's doubles ladder league, the receiving teams net player ( positioned close to service line T), will often sway back and forth and sometimes stick his raquet out, in an apparent attempt to disrupt my serve. I've never said anything, but this seems like hindrance to me. What would you do? Try to serve one upside his head, let it go, or claim the point due to hindrance?
     
    #1
  2. Topspin Shot

    Topspin Shot Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    5,141
    Well, I can serve over 100 mph, so I would serve one upside his head, just for the fun of it. But I think (don't quote me on it) you can also claim the point due to hindrance if he's sticking his racket out.
     
    #2
  3. athiker

    athiker Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,656
    #3
  4. athiker

    athiker Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,656
    #4
  5. martini1

    martini1 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,173
    First give the warning, second time claim hinderance. If it does not stop serve one right at him. If it hits his racket or any part of his body for that matter the point is yours. Of course, I won't do it for the purpose of injuring somebody.

    Bottom line is you make it clear it is against the rules for the receiving team to use excess movement to distract. You better video that too.

    Having said that. If your serve can be distracted by the other team's movement after the toss, you are look at the other end too much. Focus on the ball.
     
    #5
  6. srimes

    srimes New User

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Hold racket forward or sideways toward/into the box? Forward should be fine and you need to get over it. Sideways sounds like an intentional distraction.
     
    #6
  7. Mr.Lob

    Mr.Lob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,621
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    Yeah, it's an obvious attempt to distract. He doesn't sway when he's receiving serve. And yes, his raquet is held out sideways into the court, for a second or two... right after I look up after my ball bounce.

    This guy was nailed in the shin last week by another player. Don't think it was done on purpose as the server is all over the place with his serves. Guy did say it was the servers point, so he does know that rule.
     
    #7
  8. Mr.Lob

    Mr.Lob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,621
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    Thanks for the links. Actually there are a couple others guys that do similar stuff. One will really crowd and almost lean over the "T",The other will move the raquet around, not really into the receivers box though. Monkey see, monkey do.

    I'll bring this to their attention, the nice way first. Then the fun way. :twisted:
     
    #8
  9. Mr.Lob

    Mr.Lob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,621
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    Ok, in looking thru a few more rules, states your not to make any loud noise when your opponent is about to hit the ball. But, in this particular case seems unreasonable. I.e In doubles, if I lob short, I'm not allowed to yell out "short" to my partner, so can move back ... not get blasted in the head?
     
    #9
  10. Have I got this right, if I am at the net and my partner is returning serve, I am allowed to stand in my partners service box, where the serve will bounce into. I can stand right in it and it is not against the rules??
     
    #10
  11. Baxter

    Baxter Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,310
    Location:
    Colorado
    Yeah, that's the rule. You can't return the serve and if you get hit you lose the point. That's why nobody does it.

    As to the original post, it's a hindrance, but I can't imagine anybody doing something so childish. Don't the other players make fun of him?
     
    #11
  12. hieu1811

    hieu1811 New User

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Just to check ... so if that guy is not standing in a receiver box, but let say i aim at him and hit him.... does the point go to me too?
     
    #12
  13. Yes you get the point. You could even serve to the guy who is recieving and hit a terrible serve that goes way past the service line and hits his foot with him standing on the baseline and you get the point! :)
     
    #13
  14. J_R_B

    J_R_B Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,667
    Location:
    Newtown, PA
    If the receiver's partner is hit by a serve before it bounces, no matter where he is standing, it is the server's point.
     
    #14
  15. RetroSpin

    RetroSpin Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,953
    I would think it would be more distracting to his partner than to you. The last thing I want when returning is my partner waving his racquet in front of my face.

    I'd ignore it, because if you complain he will think he has got inside your head, and he would be right. Don't show weakness.
     
    #15
  16. LuckyR

    LuckyR Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6,404
    Location:
    The Great NW
    Funny, the answer to your question is: none of the above. I am amazed (maybe I shouldn't be) that the obvious correct answer eluded you. Talk to the guy about his incorrect behavior.
     
    #16
  17. The Meat

    The Meat Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,998
    Remember if you hit him with the serve you win the point. :)

    I did it once in a high school varsity match against a real d-bag player. It was fantastic, it ricocheted off his racquet into his throat.
     
    #17
  18. Overdrive

    Overdrive Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,301
    Location:
    Garden of Gethsemane
    :lol:

    People go to great lengths to win a rec-level tennis match.. :shock:
     
    #18
  19. goran_ace

    goran_ace Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,879
    Location:
    At Large
    Just keep firing serves down the T. I see it as a pitcher brushin back a batter who crowds the plate - except in baseball he gets to take a base if he gets hit while in tennis it's your point. If your serve goes in he's screening his partner on the return. By standing there he is simltaneously obscuring his partner's view and occupying a lane for returner to hit into.

    Unless there is some sort of official on the court or nearby, good luck trying to call a hindrance.
     
    #19
  20. goran_ace

    goran_ace Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,879
    Location:
    At Large
    Don't serve it at the guys head. You will miss ihs head and your serve will be way out.
     
    #20
  21. Overdrive

    Overdrive Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,301
    Location:
    Garden of Gethsemane
    Also, intentionally hitting a player is Busch league and self-contradicts the purpose of a solution for the OP's thread.
     
    #21
  22. sureshs

    sureshs Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    35,636
    The Code says it is against. Page 250 of the link posted before.
     
    #22
  23. Mr.Lob

    Mr.Lob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,621
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    True. I think a post or two after my initial post I wrote that I would discuss the matter with the guy.

    And no, don't think I'd really try to hit him.... though I have retaliated in kind.
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2013
    #23
  24. LuckyR

    LuckyR Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6,404
    Location:
    The Great NW
    I kind of figured that that is what you would do, though it can sound lame on a message board...
     
    #24
  25. Mr.Lob

    Mr.Lob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,621
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    How's asking your opponent play by the rules "going to great lengths"?
     
    #25
  26. I see, but this is a USTA rule. Not an ITF rule or a rule in other countries, as far as I know. Please prove me wrong if you think differently!
     
    #26
  27. Mr.Lob

    Mr.Lob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,621
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    The guy implied a hindrance on me one time, when I poached a ball at the net, and he thought my raquet had broken the plane of the net while hitting the ball.I hadn't. He told me I couldn't get away with that on the pro tour. Kinda of "I$$ed me off.

    Yeah, slicing towards the "t" did cross my mind.
     
    #27
  28. TimeSpiral

    TimeSpiral Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,291
    Location:
    Gotham City
    I concur with the majority here:
    1. Issue one warning.
    2. Issue a hindrance call and award your team the point.
    3. If they fight you on it, decide whether or not it's worth playing with these guys, and if it is, just realize you're not playing tennis anymore: you're playing BASEkettennis.
      1. In which case, anything you can do to disrupt or distract your opponent is far game, including spewing obscenities and conjuring images of Orlando Bloom.
    [​IMG]
     
    #28
  29. SystemicAnomaly

    SystemicAnomaly G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11,178
    Location:
    Stuck in the Matrix somewhere in Santa Clara CA
    I've had partners that have crowded the T when I was returning in an attempt to get into the server's head. Perfectly legit if not making overt distracting motions or sound. However, I have asked my partner to move away from the T because it can severely limit my return options if the serve is not out wide.
    .
     
    #29
  30. Baxter

    Baxter Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,310
    Location:
    Colorado
    Your racket is allowed to break the plane, you just can't make contact past your side of the net (unless it's coming back on its own because of backspin).
     
    #30
  31. LuckyR

    LuckyR Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6,404
    Location:
    The Great NW
    I think he meant the other guy....
     
    #31
  32. Mr.Lob

    Mr.Lob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,621
    Location:
    Parts Unknown

    Oh. :)

    O.k, when is it okay to hit at an opponent? Hit at hip or chest at the guy at net, when you are the returner. Some don't like that, seems generally accepted.

    I usually will hit at an opponents feet. A few times I've intentionally gone after people who I've felt had tried to ring my bell. Often times on overheads it's get out of the way because I'm not sure where this is going. When an opponent turns their back on your overhead, that's the utmost in respect... or self perseverance.:)
     
    #32
  33. Mr.Lob

    Mr.Lob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,621
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    Deleted......
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2013
    #33
  34. aer0pr0

    aer0pr0 Rookie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    109

    that is clearly lack of fair play, and the guy that does that is an idiot. just pretend he is not there but when you have the chance at the net, smash the ball at him, maybe he will understand.
     
    #34
  35. TimeSpiral

    TimeSpiral Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,291
    Location:
    Gotham City
    I love that you capitalize and bold the T. Very editor-ish of you :twisted:
     
    #35

Share This Page