Accepting Money if D1 Player

Discussion in 'College Tennis Talk' started by TennisTaxi, Aug 24, 2013.

  1. TennisTaxi

    TennisTaxi Rookie

    Feb 18, 2006
    Can someone explain the NCAA rules for accepting prize money in a tourney if player is currently playing D1....Thanks
  2. andfor

    andfor Hall of Fame

    Mar 16, 2004
    This has been talked about here many times. Sorry you have missed it. Enough it should be a sticky.

    Tennis players who want to retain amature status can accpet prize money to cover expenses only. They have to keep receipts. When they get their prize money at a tournament, the TD will not cut the player a check for more than the player can prove he spent in receipted expenses.

    Additionally, Junior players not in college can accept up to $10K in additional prize money earnings over and above expense before they start playing college tennis.

    Consult your local NCAA rep befor accepting prize money when you are still in H.S. or college.
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2013

Share This Page