Acts Of Sportsmanship That You Remember

Discussion in 'Former Pro Player Talk' started by Tilden1893, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. Tilden1893

    Tilden1893 New User

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    It was before my time, Bill Tilden in the French Open Final (an event he would never win) gave Lacoste time to rest and refusing to let him default. That got me thinking to acts like that.

    You know, stuff like that?

    One that I do remember was Agassi (He's called everything in the book here, except, OPEN right?) delayed the finals of the '94 Ericson so Sampras could play, then promply lossing the match.

    Anyone else remember stuff like that?
     
    #1
  2. SusanDK

    SusanDK Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Mats Wilander insisting on replaying match point in the semi-final of the French Open 1982 against Jose Louis-Clerc because Clerc complained about a call. The chair umpire had already called game, set and match, but Wilander said he couldn't win a match on a contested point.
     
    #2
  3. borg number one

    borg number one Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,639
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    John McEnroe, surprisingly. McEnroe hit a shot into the stands to concede a point and make up for a couple of bad calls that went against Bjorn Borg at the Masters played in New York (Madison Square Garden in January 1981). This was at the year end championship tournament before a record crowd, so this incident got a lot of attention, especially because it was Borg complaining about a call and McEnroe displaying some nice sportsmanship. McEnroe did that soon after Borg actually approached the umpire, argued a call and then received point penalties. There were about 19,000 in attendance at what was the 4th biggest tournament of the year.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tVwPAOpFweY (Thanks Krosero)
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2011
    #3
  4. I get cramps

    I get cramps New User

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    I didn't see neither of this two but...

    Álex Corretja: "In 4th RD of 1997 Roland Garros (vs. Filip Dewulf), overruled a call that had been made in his favor and conceded point to Dewulf, which ultimately cost the Spaniard the match."

    http://www.atpworldtour.com/Tennis/Players/Co/A/Alex-Corretja.aspx

    One situation that Lahyani will gladly take is a player overruling the linesman's call and giving the point to his rival. It happened to him on a tough call Patrick Rafter when the Aussie conceded the point to his rival and was later given the fair play award the same year in Dusseldorf.

    http://www.hindu.com/2005/01/10/stories/2005011007681900.htm

    I found this thread
    http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=144297
     
    #4
  5. monique s

    monique s Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    #5
  6. GS

    GS Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,310
    Location:
    Oakland
    Stefan Edberg won the ATP Sportsmanship Award 5 times from the late '80s to the mid-90s. In '96, they re-named it the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award.
    In '95, at the Legg Mason final in D.C., it was a terribly hot and humid day, Agassi vs. Edberg. Near the end of the final set, during a changeover, Agassi went straight to the air-conditioned bathroom, which was against the rules---he needed permission from the chair umpire. Edberg sat in his chair and politely complained, since Agassi was breaking the rules and getting an air-conditioned edge. He then returned, refreshed, and beat Edberg 7-5. Nice goin, Andre....
     
    #6
  7. Moose Malloy

    Moose Malloy Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,889
    nice of wilander, considering the context of the time(umpires just refused to check any marks on clay back then), but with todays umpires that would have been called a winner for clerc, not a replay situation (if they checked the mark & it was indeed good)

    mats had no play on that ball.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y2n9PsEC8Ek

    another instance of great sportsmanship, was Connors vs Newcombe '75 AO final. Connors hit a service winner & ace that were contested. He then intentionally hit a df on the next ball & got a great reception from the crowd. maybe it wasn't such a great idea since he got broken in that game & eventually lost that set to go down 2 sets to 1(& lost the match in 4)

    I see a lot of good sportsmanship(even by mac) in old matches, mainly because umpires were so incompetent back then. I'm not talking about bad calls necessarily, that stuff has always happened, but umpires just not knowing the rules(overruling, but replaying a point when it was a clean winner, overruling but calling it a winner when it was a replay situation) not to mention how often they got the score wrong & players had to correct them.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2011
    #7
  8. SusanDK

    SusanDK Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    I had never heard about that. One wonders now what Andre was doing on that break.

    Another minor act of sportsmanship - Stefan Edberg at the '88 Olympics, playing doubles for the Gold medal with Jarryd against Casal / Sanchez. A ball of Casal / Sanchez (can't remember which) flew long and the chair umpire called game point for Edberg/Jarryd. Edberg approached the chair and told her that the ball had grazed his hair, so they lost the point, and she corrected the call and thanked him. Of course, it wasn't a crucial point as it was the first set which Edberg / Jarryd were winning easily at that time (Casal / Sanchez would go on to beat them in four sets winning the Gold medal, with Edberg / Jarryd taking home bronze).
     
    #8
  9. Gizo

    Gizo Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,690
    Brad Gilbert was furious with Agassi for this, saying that he should have refused Sampras's and the tournament director's request to delay the final. Most players I'm sure would have given the same response as Agassi though. He understood that the tv networks and paying fans would have been annoyed if the final had been cancelled, and he didn't want the win the title courtesy of a walkover.

    Despite losing the final, Agassi said he had no regrets about his actions though. He definately made the right decision.
     
    #9
  10. Gizo

    Gizo Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,690
    In his Costa do Sauipe quarter-final against Calleri in 2005, Nadal had a match point in the 2nd set, but overruled a line call in Calleri's favour. He lost that 2nd set but went on to the win the 3rd set, en-route to winning his 2nd ATP title.
     
    #10
  11. Moose Malloy

    Moose Malloy Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,889
    Courier gave Chesnokov an ace down set point in the 4th set of their FO encounter in '89.

    And in those days umpires almost never got out of the chair to check any mark, so he wasn't delaying an inevitable correction by doing this. Chesnokov raised his hand in appreciation to Courier & crowd cheered.

    Courier lost 26, 36, 76, 62, 75(and there was a questionable no call in a rally on match point on Courier side of the court)
     
    #11
  12. I get cramps

    I get cramps New User

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Seguso and Flach defeated Sánchez and Casal in the 1988 Olympics Final in a highly contested match (6–3, 6–4, 6–7(5), 6–7(1), 9–7). Sánchez and Casal formed a great double. Sadly, they are forgotten nowadays.
     
    #12
  13. Datacipher

    Datacipher Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4,611
    Edberg may be a great sport, but if they had hit it through Flach's long hair, he surely would have done the same! ;-)
     
    #13
  14. Datacipher

    Datacipher Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4,611
    I believe in Agassi's book, he said he went back and just threw up, but admits just lying in the locker room, the air conditioning revived him. Of course, he admitted he had been hoping Edberg would collapse in the heat, but instead Edberg had actually broken hm twice in the fifth set to stage a comeback....

    As seems pretty typical of Andre...he doesn't really recognize the hypocrisy and seems to justify it as...I had no choice...I was really sick!
     
    #14
  15. SusanDK

    SusanDK Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Sorry, I mistakenly thought it was the match for the gold medal, when in fact, it was the semi-final. Sánchez and Casal took the silver after losing to Flach and Seguso. Edberg and Järryd took home bronze.

    I agree that Sánchez and Casal were a wonderful doubles pair to watch play, among many from that era.
     
    #15
  16. suwanee4712

    suwanee4712 Professional

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    923
    Something that most people probably don't remember about Hana was that she gave a lot of calls to her opponents. She gave Chris a call that set up match point for Chris at the Ford Cup in 1985 and gave Chris another call at the Virginia Slims Championships in the spring of 1986 that gave Chris double break point.

    I also remember her giving Martina several calls (though not the one in her Oakland win in 1984) and to Steffi at Amelia Island on a game point. Right or wrong, Hana had her own sense of fairness.
     
    #16
  17. Moose Malloy

    Moose Malloy Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,889

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/sports/longterm/memories/1995/95ten5.htm
     
    #17
  18. SusanDK

    SusanDK Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Thanks for the link, Moose, interesting read. Was Jeff Tarango's outrage at Andre's behavior before or after his own incident at Wimbledon? :lol:

    Also odd for Andre to say he's never experienced heat like that, considering he grew up in Vegas and played at Bollettieri's in Florida.
     
    #18
  19. Wilander Fan

    Wilander Fan Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,555
    In Becker run to his first Wimbledon, he met Anders Jarryd in the semi-finals. In the first or second set (far before the match was decided) Becker called Jarryd over during his (Becker's) service game and asked which side he preferred the ball on the deuce court since he was unable to hit a service winner against Jarryd on that side. Becker went on to win in 4 sets and eventually win the championship.

    This is what the commentators said had happened but it seemed unbeliavable to me. I think what actually happenned was Becker giving Jarryd a free return to make up for a previous bad call.
     
    #19
  20. SusanDK

    SusanDK Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    I've never heard or read this - interesting story. I've got this match on DVD and have watched it a few times, and I do not recall seeing this or hearing the commentators mention it. When I get time I'm going to watch again to see if I can catch this.

    If it's true, it's particularly surprising if it came in the first two sets (before the rain delay) because Jarryd was clearly outplaying Becker up to that point.

    And a silly one to add to this thread from yesterday - Novak Djokovic giving Tipsarevic a racquet dampener in the middle of the first set tiebreak when Tipsarevic broke a string and lost his. :)
     
    #20
  21. PennAlum

    PennAlum Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Loved the graceful and athletic way Hana Mandlikova played, reminiscent of Evonne Goologong.
     
    #21
  22. newpball

    newpball Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5,355
    Location:
    Northern California, USA
    Great topic and great examples!

    Some people claim that in USTA tennis one cannot offer a let and if one were to do that one simply violates the rules of tennis.

    Opinions on that?
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
    #22
  23. struggle

    struggle Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    offer a let for what? the ball is in or it is out in league play.

    no refs, no lets that result from a questionable call.

    but you can certainly give your opponent the benefit of doubt and
    concede any point that you are unsure of vs. just calling it out when you
    are unsure but "THINK" it was out.
     
    #23
  24. newpball

    newpball Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5,355
    Location:
    Northern California, USA
    I could have sworn that someone earlier brought up the example of Federer correcting the score at match point.

    Don't know where it went.
    http://youtu.be/jzxWkvso5UY
     
    #24
  25. 1477aces

    1477aces Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,597
    Roddick verdasco at the French. Roddick overruled a double fault call on match point for him, ended up losing.
     
    #25
  26. kiki

    kiki Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18,714
    She was so special, even on that.
     
    #26
  27. kiki

    kiki Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18,714
    Manuel Orantes; he did it so many times, even in hard fought five setters.
     
    #27
  28. Uthree

    Uthree Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Australia
    1975 Aussie Open Jimmy Connors deliberately double faults against John Newcombe after a call against Newk. Newk took out the title.
     
    #28
  29. Don't Let It Bounce

    Don't Let It Bounce Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,616
    A player's courtesy to the people he can get away with being nasty to (i.e., the non-millionaires who stare at lines so that the players can enjoy the limelight) always makes a strong impression on me.

    There's a famous story from the 30's of Don Budge, in a big win, giving his favored opponent a free point in response to a bad call. Afterward, Gottfried Von Cramm, one of the sport's all-time great gentlemen, suggested to him that his behavior was incorrect for having embarrassed the linesman. I read in another account that Budge regarded the conversation as an important lesson.

    Whether or not one agrees with Von Cramm, the essence of sportsmanship is stopping to consider the other person, and by that standard this was a higher level of it.
     
    #29
  30. I Heart Thomas Muster

    I Heart Thomas Muster Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Nothing big but I saw Muster overrule a line call at the US Open to give Agassi a point and I believe this was at the height of their feud.
     
    #30
  31. struggle

    struggle Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    rodDick is also known to berate ball kids who are out there to see their heros and are likely working hard for free. P I $ $ on him.

    i have a buddy who runs cameras at major events. it's true.
     
    #31
  32. The Isomotion31

    The Isomotion31 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    483
    Location:
    The Bay Area, California
    Berate them for what?
     
    #32
  33. suwanee4712

    suwanee4712 Professional

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    923
    A bee stung Kathy Rinaldi during her Center Court match with Shriver. Who came to her rescue? Pam did!

    Shriver killed the bee and removed the stinger from Kathy's arm. The chair jokingly threatened to give Pam a penalty point for killing the bee.

    I like to needle Evert once in a while. But I remember the 86 French SF where Hana had cracked a bone in her pinky in a fall while beating Graf. Early on Hana tripped over a line sliding out wide to her backhand and instinctively reached down with her hand to avoid a face plant into the clay. It was immediately apparent that Hana had hurt herself as she began crying and holding her hand. Chris immediately came around the net to comfort her. The rest of the match was painful for Hana in more ways than one. Every forehand and every forehand volley she hit was painful.

    I also remember Chris beating Martina in Houston in 1987 in perhaps their best match ever (the 1987 Wimbledon might've been better). Martina couldn't hold her tears and Chris went over to her chair to comfort Martina.
     
    #33
  34. BTURNER

    BTURNER Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,536
    Location:
    OREGON
    Evert's usual policy was to just play the calls as they came, maybe pausing just a little longer to give time to the linesman or Umpire to overrule a gift. She seemed more studious in matches with Evonne. In several matches she made it abundantly clear when she thought Evonne was shafted, once using jesture to call a ball in for Evonne before the refs could screw it up.

    Graf made it equally clear to the empire she did not want any more gifts in a 1989 match vs Evert.

    Shriver mentioned late in her career that only twice in her entire career has her opponent sent a personalized congratulatory note after a victory. Evert was responsible for one of them. She could afford to be magnanimous considering how long it took Pam to get victory #1

    By the way has anyone ever seen Goolagong question a bad call or even give a dirty look ?
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2013
    #34

Share This Page