Another rules question

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by jefferson, May 19, 2009.

  1. jefferson

    jefferson Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    658
    This is a situation that has occurred each year for the last two years. It involves the same roving official. Its a doubles match second serve, my player is in his service motion and the official calls a let due to a ball she deems dangerous to the other team. She then goes on to explain why she called the let, delaying play some more.

    Okay no problem yet, but when my player asks for a first serve she says no, second serve. I have argued with her last year and this year about this, and she will not relent.

    My argument is obvious, he is in his service motion and a let is called = automatic first serve. AM I WRONG? :???:
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2009
    #1
  2. JLyon

    JLyon Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,325
    Location:
    AR
    It should be a first serve, because he was in the service motion. Rule is easy to find in the FOC.
     
    #2
  3. jefferson

    jefferson Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    658
    Thats what I am saying, how can an official from the USTA get this wrong. Never mind twice!!
     
    #3
  4. JLyon

    JLyon Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,325
    Location:
    AR
    without being there the official may have felt she called a let prior to his motion beginning, but if the arm swing or ball toss had started it should be a first serve. Maybe Woodrow could confirm this for us.
     
    #4
  5. jc4.0

    jc4.0 Professional

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    803
    take two

    Read The Code. If the delay is caused by the server, such as retrieving a ball after the first serve, then the server does not get another serve. If the delay is caused by a ball or other object flying across the court beyond the server's control which has to be cleared, then the server should be allowed two serves. In this case the friendly thing would be to give the server two.
     
    #5
  6. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    This is most likely the reasoning. A lot of times the official will call let just prior to starting the toss and the server will try to "buy" a first serve by starting quickly. Without being there, like JLyon said, there's no way that we can tell. If the server was clearly in the toss when the official said stop, it should be a first serve.
     
    #6
  7. jefferson

    jefferson Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    658
    HIs hands were dropping which is the beginning of the toss motion. The ball still in his hand. But to me as a player, anything once I stop my ritual, bouncing three times, is my service motion. Once my weight transfers and my hands start to drop, I consider myself in the service motion.

    If I was the other team I would have offered it, regardless of what she says.
     
    #7
  8. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    If you offer it as the opponent, there is nothing wrong with that. Generally speaking, what you just described is not considered in your motion, and a first serve would not be ruled.
     
    #8
  9. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,067
    What does constitute the beginning of the service motion, Woodrow?
     
    #9
  10. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    Generally speaking, when the arms start moving up, or the ball is tossed. Unfortunately, this is one of those things that is not going to be consistent with every official.
     
    #10

Share This Page