Another what would you have done...

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by prgault, May 15, 2012.

  1. prgault

    prgault Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Wife and I were playing as substitutes in a mixed doubles league against a father daughter team, daughter is a high school player. I tried to get cute on a first serve to the father and ended up hitting the daughter at the net on the leg. After making sure she was OK (she was, after all it was MY serve) I paused for a second to see if they were going to switch positions and they didn't. So I went ahead and hit the second serve.

    This is a league and subs can get points for the team they are subbing for, so I feel kind of bad that I didn't claim the point, and a little surprised that the high school player did not know the rule.

    Should I have educated them and claimed the point?

    P_
     
    #1
  2. OrangePower

    OrangePower Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,058
    Location:
    NorCal Bay Area
    What would I have done... other than the obvious (I would not play mixed, and especially not with my wife!), yes, I would claim the point and educate them if they were not aware. Especially since the kid is a high school player - she needs to understand the rules.
     
    #2
  3. jdubbs

    jdubbs Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,276
    There's some things more important than the rules, and you showed sportsmanship in redoing the point. Should have claimed a first serve, though.
     
    #3
  4. goober

    goober Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    8,491
    Maybe she knew the rule and was trying to pull a fast one on you and you fell for it?
     
    #4
  5. prgault

    prgault Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    the thought did occur to me....
     
    #5
  6. kylebarendrick

    kylebarendrick Professional

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Northern California
    So what is sportsmanlike about redoing the point? Playing within the rules is a key part of sportsmanship. Replaying the point (against the rules but benefits the opponent) and claiming a first serve (against the rules and benefits yourself) seems even less sportsmanlike.
     
    #6
  7. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    i hate this response. a good sport plays by the rules.


    oi
     
    #7
  8. jswinf

    jswinf Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,143
    I'm curious where the 'daughter' was positioned, or in other words how far errant your serve was--I know it shouldn't matter, a rule's a rule and all...
     
    #8
  9. gmatheis

    gmatheis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,573
    I'm usually a stickler for the rules ... but barring some extenuating circumstances I would just do what you did.

    I might let the girl know that in a high school match her opponents could claim that point so she should always be ready to dodge the ball, but I probably wouldn't claim it on her in that situation.

    Since it was a league match I wouldn't think any less of anyone who DID claim the point though.
     
    #9
  10. DeShaun

    DeShaun Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,837
    On most days I would not have claimed that point because i did not know about this rule. Most of the time my priorities lie with enabling tennis that all parties will find very fun. So, even if I knew about the rule, at most I probably would only tease them about the circumstance, before I let go completely of any hope that I may have had for actually being awarded the point. It does not sway me, either, the characterization of my opponent as being someone who perhaps should have known about the rule yet who failed to speak up, because I am well unable to confirm positively the full extent of her awareness and so, can only assume and I wouldn't want to make an ass of myself.
     
    #10
  11. prgault

    prgault Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    She was near the middle of the ad court service box as I was serving to the deuce court. "Slice" serve that would on a good day cross the ad service box and hit near the T.

    P_
     
    #11
  12. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    In any competitive match, I would take the point.

    In a social match, no.
     
    #12
  13. MrCLEAN

    MrCLEAN Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    You should have taken the point, accidental hit notwithstanding.

    On a somewhat unrelated note, once or twice when playing doubles when I'm serving, a receivers partner has hugged the center line and tried to effectively block the down the middle serve. Is it unsportsmanlike to go ahead and hit the middle serve? I've done it, and hit a few partners, and took the point, and they never complained. They were just bluffing to see if I'd stay away from them, perhaps the daughter was doing the same thing?
     
    #13
  14. kylebarendrick

    kylebarendrick Professional

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Northern California
    I have never, in either league or social matches, had an opponent that didn't concede the point after being hit by the ball. Of course I'd take the point, I earned it just as much as if I'd hit a net cord winner.
     
    #14
  15. RadicalMPfan

    RadicalMPfan Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Thread should have stopped with Cindy's reply.
     
    #15

Share This Page