Any Rule Against Playing Same Point Both Right-handed & Left-handed?

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by USS Tang, Apr 28, 2013.

  1. USS Tang

    USS Tang Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Transchoptankia
    If it can be done, it might have a tactical advantage. Opponent will be thrown off-guard. Is this a rules violation?
     
    #1
  2. WildVolley

    WildVolley Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,887
    No. Perfectly legal. If it were illegal, it would make the 2hbh and related shots illegal.

    You can occasionally see a professional switch hands in desperation to get the reach to hit a ball in, but it is rare. The main argument against switching hands has been the time issue, in terms of how long it takes to switch the racket from one hand to the other. The two-handled racket was one approach to dealing with this issue.
     
    #2
  3. WildVolley

    WildVolley Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,887
    #3
  4. 10s talk

    10s talk Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    578
    Sharapova has done it several times
     
    #4
  5. North

    North Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    937
    Perfectly legal. I am a rightie but have a left handed forehand I use sometimes when I am stretched out on the run. I have had to explain to several opponents over the years that it's legal to do that.
     
    #5
  6. Say Chi Sin Lo

    Say Chi Sin Lo Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    9,265
    I've bamboozled opponents by jumping off of the off leg.
     
    #6
  7. SystemicAnomaly

    SystemicAnomaly G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11,192
    Location:
    Stuck in the Matrix somewhere in Santa Clara CA
    No rule. I do it quite often (since my dominant left shoulder is impaired). As mentioned above, Sharapova does it every once in a while and Dual-Hand Luke (Jensen) switched serving arms quite often during a game or match.
     
    #7
  8. WildVolley

    WildVolley Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,887
    Do you mean the Nishikori-style smash forehand?
     
    #8
  9. WildVolley

    WildVolley Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,887
    Can you serve with both hands?
     
    #9
  10. Say Chi Sin Lo

    Say Chi Sin Lo Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    9,265
    Not quite, but when I go for my anime-style smash forehand, I use the hang-time so I can flatten it out and drive the ball down into the court.

    I still manage about 8.634ft of air and a sizeable aura of pure energy jumping off my off leg.
     
    #10
  11. purple-n-gold

    purple-n-gold Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,353
    Location:
    Down East
    No, it's not illegal. I know of a few guys that can play this way. Huge advantage serving, seen only 2 guys do this well. One high ranked junior many years ago played lefty and could ace you righty and lefty. Most recently seen a fellow playing local leagues here play only a forehand, both sides:)
     
    #11
  12. SystemicAnomaly

    SystemicAnomaly G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11,192
    Location:
    Stuck in the Matrix somewhere in Santa Clara CA
    Affirmative. Not quite as good as dual-hand Luke tho'.
     
    #12
  13. goran_ace

    goran_ace Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,884
    Location:
    At Large
    Back in high school I used to mess around against weak opponents and would serve righty then play out the rest of the point lefty.
     
    #13
  14. TennisCJC

    TennisCJC Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,517
    My team played against a guy who served R handed and then played everything else L handed. I could not understand why he didn't serve L handed because I would love to have a L handed serve.
     
    #14
  15. ark_28

    ark_28 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,116
    Location:
    England/USA
    In Cricket Kevin Pietersen has become famous as a right handed batsman he changes last minute (it is called the switch hit) and hits it as a left hander some feel it should be against the rules as it is not fair on bowler! either way you have to be very talented to do it.

    Here is the switch hit

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XiHSy5p0F5E
     
    #15
  16. mmk

    mmk Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    980
    I watched David Warner do the same thing.
     
    #16
  17. J_R_B

    J_R_B Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,668
    Location:
    Newtown, PA
    There is a guy who I play with sometimes who can hit 1HFH, 1HBH, and 2HBH off both sides, and uses all 6 shots during the course of a match. It's very difficult to play against because you never who where the ball is coming from or what kind of spin it will have.
     
    #17
  18. mmk

    mmk Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    980
    I already have a hard time playing lefties, that would drive me nuts.
     
    #18
  19. ark_28

    ark_28 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,116
    Location:
    England/USA
    Good call Warner does a great switch hit too!
     
    #19
  20. tennisnj

    tennisnj Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,238
    Location:
    New Jersey
    If that were illegal I would've been defaulted from every match I've played in since I was a teenager. I routinely use 2 hands on both sides & then 1 hand on both sides without hesitation. At this point in my tennis career I could use any help I can get playing these young high schoolers. One can never have enough weapons.
     
    #20
  21. LeeD

    LeeD Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    37,284
    Location:
    East side of San Francisco Bay
    I think that video in post 3 is fake.
    Notice every ball hit to the switch hitter is right short of the service line?
    Setup.
     
    #21
  22. MindoverMatter

    MindoverMatter Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    923
    When I was in highschool, the number one player in my region was ambidextrous because he broke his right arm a few years before and forced himself to learn how to hit with his left. After his right arm healed, he could hit as well with both of them and used one-hand forehands and two-hand backhands off both sides. I never got the chance to play him, but my friend at #1 singles struggled every time.
     
    #22
  23. LeeD

    LeeD Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    37,284
    Location:
    East side of San Francisco Bay
    Sure, couple of brother's around here, both A/Open or 5.0, play with both hands, serve both hands, but their predominant hand is stronger under pressure, even if they are forced to hit a backhand. They like their forehands.
     
    #23
  24. RogueFLIP

    RogueFLIP Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    797
    Woman I play against in mixed uses both hands consistently. Really weird.
     
    #24
  25. eastbayliz

    eastbayliz Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Oakland
    It wasn't till I lost (Women's 4.5 tournament) that I figured out why she was getting all sorts of almost winners I hit. Was left handed but on wide backhands she would switch and hands and hit as a forehand. Wicked shot, very effective as she played it.
     
    #25
  26. Tonyr1967

    Tonyr1967 Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    143
    Play regularly with a guy that serves with his right, then plays out the point with his left
     
    #26

Share This Page