Around the net post is legal, but...

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by Rickson, Aug 26, 2007.

  1. Rickson

    Rickson G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Location:
    USA
    Here's the scenario. We were playing doubles. One of our opponents hits a wide shot and my partner goes past the net post to chip the ball back onto their side of the court. We weren't sure of the rule on this one as this wasn't a Federer vs. Suzuki type shot. My partner actually ran past the post, although he never touched it. We gave the point to those whiners, but we won the match anyway.
     
    #1
  2. Commando Tennis Shorts

    Commando Tennis Shorts Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    If he passed the post (as in, ended up on your opponents' side of the court) before or as he hit the ball, it is your opponents' point. . . If he passed the post after he hit the ball, it is your point. . .If the dispute is that your partner ran past the post sideways (rather than ending up on your opponents' side of the court), it is your point.
     
    #2
  3. Geezer Guy

    Geezer Guy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Big Canoe, GA
    You can go past the netpost either before or after the shot. There's nothing wrong with that. The only this is that you can't actually step within the lines of their court. (Singles if you're playing singles, or in this case he can't step in the doubles court since you were playing doubles.)
     
    #3
  4. libiss

    libiss New User

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    not telling....so HA.
    It's legal, unless your partner passes the net and onto your opponets' side of the court. I've check the rule about tennis with ATP and I haven't seen anything about around the post shot being illegal.
     
    #4
  5. Bodacious DVT

    Bodacious DVT Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    560
    correct.

    I believe it was in this month's edition of TENNIS mag- the question was asked "can you jump over the net?" the answer was "yes, as long as you do not land in your opponent's playing court (singles sidelines, doubles sidelines in doubles).
     
    #5
  6. Rickson

    Rickson G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Location:
    USA
    Then we gave up a perfectly legal point! To the evil Raul of all people!
     
    #6
  7. Commando Tennis Shorts

    Commando Tennis Shorts Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    ah. . .I did not know that. well done.
     
    #7

Share This Page