ATP/WTA/ITF Challenging Rules Test

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by woodrow1029, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Each year, ATP/WTA/ITF has a test that all ITF certified officials must complete as part of their certification for the year. The test covers some new rule changes and some questions that deal with sticky situations that happened in the previous year. Here's a few questions from this year's test. Just keep in mind that some of the questions on the test have 2 or more answers that COULD be right as they are not specifically in the Rulebook and are gray area situations, but the ITF/ATP/WTA will have their "preferred best answer" which they will give in April.

    1. A doubles match is played between A&B versus C&D. At 3-2 in the second set, first point, player C hits a return and stops play before player A has had a chance to hit a volley, claiming that they are in the wrong receiving positions. The Chair Umpire realizes now that it was indeed player D's turn to receive. The chair umpire should:

    A. Announce, "Let, replay the point" and correct the receiving order immediately.
    B. Announce, "Let, replay the point" and correct the receiving order immediately. Advise C&D that only the Chair Umpire can stop play for something like this.
    C. Announce, "Hindrance" and award the point to A&B. The receiving order remains as altered for the remainder of that game.
    D. Announce, "Hindrance" award the point to A&B and correct the receiving order immediately.

    2. A WTA player is allowed to wear a hat with the logo of a NBA basketball team during her match, as long as the logo meets all limitations regarding size, because it is not promoting another tennis event.

    A. True
    B. False

    3. During an ITF Pro Circuit event qualifying match played without a Chair Umpire or ballkids, the server hits a first serve "out". The receiver hits the return into the net. THe ball rolls back and stops about one meter (three feet) away from the net, close to the center service line. The server asks the receiver to remove the ball from the court because it distracts him. The receiver does not want to do this and states that he is responsible for his side. The server has the right to ask for the ball to be removed.

    A. True
    B. False

    4. During a Fed Cup match, Player A asks for a challenge after an overrule from the chair umpire. After the chair umpire has announced the challenge, the player then changes her mind and asks the chair umpire to withdraw that challenge. The chir umpire says on the microphone, "Cancel challenge." Unfortunately, it is too late as the challenge is shown as the umpire says to cancel. THe overrule WAS correct. In this case the following procedure should be followed:

    A. The challenge is rescinded and does not count towards Player A's allowance of unsuccessful challenges for the set in progress.
    B. Player A loses the challenge.

    5. At an ATP tournament where Electronic Review is in use, Player A has already used up his 3 unsuccessful challenges in the second set after losing the first set. At match point (5-4, 40-30) for player B, Player B hits a ball to the baseline which is called "IN" by the line umpire. Player A (who has no challenges remaining) challenges and the chair umpire and review official allow the challenge. The result of the challenge is shown on the video board and the ball was actually "OUT". At this point, it is realized that the challenging player had no challenges remaining.

    A. Allow the challenge and award the point to Player A.
    B. Disallow the challenge and go with the original call and award the point (and match) to player B.
    C. Replay the point.

    6. Im a match played on a clay court, Player A hits a very high defensive lob that lands close to the far side line. Player B has a good look at the mark, hesitates, then hits an overhead smash into the net. Player B then circles the mark and asks the chair umpire to inspect the ball mark.

    A. Check the mark.
    B. Tell the player that it is too late to check the mark once he played that shot.

    7. A match is played in an indoor arena with a very large four-screen scoreboard hanging from the ceiling above the net. Player A hits a high shot that goes over the scoreboard and lands in his opponent's court. The chair umpire does not see the ball hit anything or change direction. However, due to the presence of the screens, the chair umpire has lost visibility of the ball for about 3 meters (10 feet).

    A. Play continues
    B. Call, "Let, replay the point."
     
    #1
  2. Nathaniel_Near

    Nathaniel_Near Talk Tennis Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    20,039
    Location:
    Relax folks, ...
    I have no idea really.. umm:

    1. D
    2. False
    3. True
    4. B
    5. B
    6. B
    7. B

    I wonder how badly I failed!
     
    #2
  3. niff

    niff Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,390
    Location:
    Henman Hill
    A
    False
    True
    B
    C
    B
    B

    My solution is always replay the point, such a pacifist :(
     
    #3
  4. Tcbtennis

    Tcbtennis Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,345
    Cool thread.

    1. D
    2. B
    3. A
    4. A
    5. C
    6. A
    7. B
     
    #4
  5. tennis_pro

    tennis_pro G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    17,591
    1. D
    2. False
    3. True
    4. B
    5. C - it's the umpire's job to keep up
    6. B
    7. B (has this ever happened btw?)
     
    #5
  6. Rock Strongo

    Rock Strongo Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,729
    Location:
    Sweden
    I'll go with BBABCBA, not having looked at the other replies.

    The C might be changed to a B though.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2012
    #6
  7. cneblett

    cneblett Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    1 D. Once a point starts under condition should continue
    2. B
    3. A
    4. B
    5. B
    6. B
    7. A. No proof it hit anything, and what would happen on a court with a roof which is glass and closes if it goes up into the sun?
     
    #7
  8. laughingbuddha

    laughingbuddha Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    174
    Are you allowed to post these?
     
    #8
  9. Tammo

    Tammo Banned

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3,875
    I would guess CBBBCAB
     
    #9
  10. joeri888

    joeri888 G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    13,120
    DBBABBA

    Fail at this big time.



    Woodrow, will you be providing your answers in a few days and some motivation why you chose them? Would be cool!
     
    #10
  11. aphex

    aphex Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,263
    Location:
    athens, greece
    8. Rafael Nadal decides to take 58 seconds between points.
    The umpire must:

    A. Do nothing
    B. Do nothing
     
    #11
  12. joeri888

    joeri888 G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    13,120
    I seem to remember that you also posted a quiz like this last year Woodrow. Would you still remember what the name of that thread was? I wanna look it up but can't find it.
     
    #12
  13. kaleidoskope

    kaleidoskope Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    Brasília, Brazil
    Cool thread.

    Here's my (ignorant) take:

    1. A
    2. A
    3. A. True
    4. A
    5. B
    6. B
    7. B. Call, "Let, replay the point."
     
    #13
  14. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Wow. They let you back?
     
    #14
  15. Nathaniel_Near

    Nathaniel_Near Talk Tennis Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    20,039
    Location:
    Relax folks, ...
    Pfft, where are the answers? :)
     
    #15
  16. VetoRight

    VetoRight Rookie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    The Farthest East
    1.a
    2.b
    3.a
    4.a
    5.b
    6.b
    7.a
     
    #16
  17. Sentinel

    Sentinel Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    31,263
    Location:
    Somewhere under the weather ;)
    The entire AO final would have finished in under one hour if he had only taken 58 seconds between each point.
     
    #17
  18. Nathaniel_Near

    Nathaniel_Near Talk Tennis Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    20,039
    Location:
    Relax folks, ...
    Don't we get any answers for this or what?
     
    #18
  19. spiderman123

    spiderman123 Professional

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    843
    1. C
    2. B
    3. A
    4. B
    5. B
    6. A
    7. B
     
    #19
  20. sureshs

    sureshs Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    35,777
    You are presented with a Bulova watch and a pair of Maui Jim sunglasses after the final. You should:

    A. Grab them and run away
    B. Refuse them on principle
    C. Throw them on the court and jump on them to protest the low pay for umpires
    D. Sell them to a ballperson for 100 bucks
     
    #20
  21. jonnyjack

    jonnyjack Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    1. D
    2. B?
    3. A
    4. A?
    5. B?
    6. B
    7. A
     
    #21
  22. nl_umpire

    nl_umpire New User

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Haha. Nice test ;). We're waiting for the answers too.
     
    #22
  23. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Forgot about this thread. And now the answers available:

    1. A doubles match is played between A&B versus C&D. At 3-2 in the second set, first point, player C hits a return and stops play before player A has had a chance to hit a volley, claiming that they are in the wrong receiving positions. The Chair Umpire realizes now that it was indeed player D's turn to receive. The chair umpire should:

    A. Announce, "Let, replay the point" and correct the receiving order immediately.
    B. Announce, "Let, replay the point" and correct the receiving order immediately. Advise C&D that only the Chair Umpire can stop play for something like this.
    C. Announce, "Hindrance" and award the point to A&B. The receiving order remains as altered for the remainder of that game.
    D. Announce, "Hindrance" award the point to A&B and correct the receiving order immediately.

    2. A WTA player is allowed to wear a hat with the logo of a NBA basketball team during her match, as long as the logo meets all limitations regarding size, because it is not promoting another tennis event.

    A. True
    B. False

    3. During an ITF Pro Circuit event qualifying match played without a Chair Umpire or ballkids, the server hits a first serve "out". The receiver hits the return into the net. THe ball rolls back and stops about one meter (three feet) away from the net, close to the center service line. The server asks the receiver to remove the ball from the court because it distracts him. The receiver does not want to do this and states that he is responsible for his side. The server has the right to ask for the ball to be removed.

    A. True
    B. False Both answers are acceptable. The server does have the right to ask, but the receiver is responsible for his side. An umpire should make the determination as to whether it is a reasonable request (dangerous position, distraction, etc.).

    4. During a Fed Cup match, Player A asks for a challenge after an overrule from the chair umpire. After the chair umpire has announced the challenge, the player then changes her mind and asks the chair umpire to withdraw that challenge. The chir umpire says on the microphone, "Cancel challenge." Unfortunately, it is too late as the challenge is shown as the umpire says to cancel. THe overrule WAS correct. In this case the following procedure should be followed:

    A. The challenge is rescinded and does not count towards Player A's allowance of unsuccessful challenges for the set in progress.
    B. Player A loses the challenge.

    5. At an ATP tournament where Electronic Review is in use, Player A has already used up his 3 unsuccessful challenges in the second set after losing the first set. At match point (5-4, 40-30) for player B, Player B hits a ball to the baseline which is called "IN" by the line umpire. Player A (who has no challenges remaining) challenges and the chair umpire and review official allow the challenge. The result of the challenge is shown on the video board and the ball was actually "OUT". At this point, it is realized that the challenging player had no challenges remaining.

    A. Allow the challenge and award the point to Player A.
    B. Disallow the challenge and go with the original call and award the point (and match) to player B.
    C. Replay the point.

    6. Im a match played on a clay court, Player A hits a very high defensive lob that lands close to the far side line. Player B has a good look at the mark, hesitates, then hits an overhead smash into the net. Player B then circles the mark and asks the chair umpire to inspect the ball mark.

    A. Check the mark.
    B. Tell the player that it is too late to check the mark once he played that shot.

    7. A match is played in an indoor arena with a very large four-screen scoreboard hanging from the ceiling above the net. Player A hits a high shot that goes over the scoreboard and lands in his opponent's court. The chair umpire does not see the ball hit anything or change direction. However, due to the presence of the screens, the chair umpire has lost visibility of the ball for about 3 meters (10 feet).

    A. Play continues
    B. Call, "Let, replay the point."
     
    #23
  24. laughingbuddha

    laughingbuddha Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    174
    1. B
    2. A
    3. B
    4. A
    5. B
    6. A
    7. B

    Edit: 1.5/7 but some of the actual answers seem a little illogical.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2012
    #24
  25. tennis_pro

    tennis_pro G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    17,591
    4/7 did I pass?
     
    #25
  26. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Which ones?
     
    #26
  27. cneblett

    cneblett Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    I got all but the part about finishing out the game right

    Woodrow, I was in a tourny recently and the roving USTA official made all players clear all balls anywhere within the courts. He did not a low them to even stay if hit into the net. Is that right? Said a new rule
     
    #27
  28. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    In USTA tennis, either player can ask for a ball to be cleared, and the request shall be honored. But the official shouldn't be making them clear it if nobody is bothered by it. The exception would be if it is in an obviously dangerous spot, like 2 feet inside the baseline or something like that. The question in this thread was regarding ITF futures though, so it's a bit different.

    When you say "hit into the net", do you mean they hit a serve and it got stuck in the holes in the net? If so, I make them clear it, even in USTA tennis, because if it falls out in the middle of the point a let needs to be played.
     
    #28
  29. cneblett

    cneblett Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    I mean when a serve was long and the receiver just taps it into the net. It stays on the ground against the net and neither player was bothered. Only way it could have been an issue was if a player was going to hit the net with their foot
     
    #29
  30. SweetH2O

    SweetH2O Rookie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    Powder Springs, GA
    Cool, I got 7 out of 7. Some lucky guesses, but I'm proud that I knew that first one.
     
    #30
  31. laughingbuddha

    laughingbuddha Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    174
    #1 especially.
     
    #31
  32. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    #1 isn't really illogical answer. While it is certainly hoped that a chair umpire would realize the issue before the first serve is struck, it is still technically the players' responsibility to be in the correct position. When a mistake is made, and the players start the point in good faith, that point stands, and it is never acceptable to stop a point in progress for this reason. Therefore, it is considered a deliberate hindrance, and the team that stopped the point loses the point.
     
    #32
  33. SweetH2O

    SweetH2O Rookie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    Powder Springs, GA
    I think most people are surprised that the wrong receiving order is kept through that game once it has started. I understand that it is so the same person doesn't receive serve two points in a row, but it does seem odd not to fix a mistake as soon as you realize it.
     
    #33

Share This Page