Ball hitting post and going in..

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by MTXR, May 17, 2007.

  1. MTXR

    MTXR Professional

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    870
    Today i was playing some tennis.

    Someone hit a ground stroke and hit the inside of the post, gap between the net and the post and it ricocheted into the court and we didn't get to it. Is this their point? They claimed that it was legal. I was like wth.. Gave them the point anyway and kept playing..
     
    #1
  2. Slazenger

    Slazenger Professional

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,074
    Not legal.
     
    #2
  3. psp2

    psp2 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,102
    The point is theirs.

    25. A GOOD RETURN (OLD 24)
    It is a good return if:
    a. The ball touches the net, net posts/singles sticks, cord or metal
    cable, strap or band, provided that it passes over any of them and
    hits the ground within the correct court; except as provided in Rule
    2 and 24 (d); or


    EDIT: Hmmmm, I really didn't understand whether the ball hit the netpost and went over the net, or hit the netpost and went through an opening (which seems very odd) and not over the net.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2007
    #3
  4. MTXR

    MTXR Professional

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    870
    basically as long as you hit it in, like around the net post hits the netpost, etc... except for hitting lights, scorecard and such its still a live ball..
     
    #4
  5. Slazenger

    Slazenger Professional

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,074
    Not legal. The OP said the ball went between (not over) the net and the net pos, hit the net post and ricocheted back into the court.

    Point is the Ops.
     
    #5
  6. Solat

    Solat Professional

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,242
    yep true, there in reality should be no gap between the net and the post making this shot impossible
     
    #6
  7. lethalfang

    lethalfang Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,420
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Most likely, the width of the net was set up for the doubles, and he was actually playing singles. So there shouldn't be net there if it were a singles' net.
     
    #7
  8. Hot Sauce

    Hot Sauce Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,890
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Not legal, unless of course you call "bank!"
     
    #8
  9. JLyon

    JLyon Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,341
    Location:
    AR
    net post is a permanent fixture and thus you lose the point.
     
    #9
  10. x Southpaw x

    x Southpaw x Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    UMaryland-CP
    Wasn't there some video a long time ago where Richard Gasquet was returning a serve with a slice and it hit the top of the metal net post and bounced in and he got that point?
     
    #10
  11. Andrew

    Andrew Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    I remember I saw one on TV last year when it hit the net cord between the net and the post and it was ruled good, but not the post itself, and not below the height of the net.
     
    #11
  12. Douggo

    Douggo Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Minnesota
    One vote for "it's your point because it didn't go over the net; it effectively went through the net."
    And I know it doesn't have to be higher than the net if you hit it around the post - but then that's not the same as hitting the post, is it?
     
    #12
  13. Squall Leonheart

    Squall Leonheart Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    223
    The OP would have lost the point if this were the case. Here, the ball bounced over or around the net and landed in.

    In this case, the ball hit the net post and went through the gap between the post and the net, which is not legal.
     
    #13
  14. psp2

    psp2 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,102
    I recommend that you read the Rules of Tennis first.
     
    #14
  15. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,917
    Actually there was a Tennis Magazine article where something like this was mentioned.

    To those who say the net post is a permenant fixture, you are wrong (most of the time), the net post is part of the net. The ball can hit the net post. It just cant hit a scorecard, ball tray, or anything attached to the net post.

    However there is only one way that the OP's shot could be close to legal. If it was a singles match with singles sticks, then that specific shot is legal if hadnt touched anything because that isnt any diffrent than hitting around the post with a single net. However because the net post is outside the bounds of a singles stick it then becomes a permanent fixture (along with the part of the net outside of the singles stick), so you lose the point if you hit it. Here is the rule (Rule 25 d):

    d. The ball passes under the net cord between the singles stick and the
    adjacent net post without touching either net, net cord or net post and
    hits the ground in the correct court
     
    #15
  16. lawrence

    lawrence Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,878
    #16
  17. Brian_C

    Brian_C New User

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    South Florida
    wow if thats true my friend owes me money >.> i paid 10 bucks for nothing.. hehe he bet he could be me but he did... but... i hit pole and he sed it didnt count when i had adv on a 5/6 hmm i would have won
     
    #17
  18. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,917
    In your video the ball hit the singles stick. That's a whole diffrent issue, the singles stick is like the post and is part of the net (when you dont have a singles stick). Anything outside of the singles stick is a permenant fixture and is not in play.

    What's your point?
     
    #18
  19. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,917
    He sure suckered you then. The pole is part of the net (if there is no singles stick).

    You should protest!

    It can hit the pole as long as the ball travels either over the net cord, or around the side of the pole. (it cant go underneath the net cord unless you have singles sticks, but then it cant hit the pole)
     
    #19

Share This Page