Ball Stuck In The Throat Of Racket!!

Discussion in 'Odds & Ends' started by Noltae, Feb 4, 2011.

  1. Noltae

    Noltae Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Never In all my 30 something of years playing have have I seen this happen before - What happened was a non tennis friend of mine was in town for the weekend and said he fancied a hit - so I obliged and took him down to the club for a knock about - he was using old an APD that I had lying around... Now this guy bless him certainly has little to no timing and was miss hitting and framing the ball like crazy actually giving me a half decent run around due to the random shank induced ball placement when I had to double take - for a split second I thought the ball had vanished! No it had become lodged in his racket throat ! I found this ridiculously funny :) What are the chances of this happening again I wonder ? Has anyone else had this happen or seen it happen? Thinking it maybe slightly more possible with the tear drop shape of the Aero Pro than say a box beam but even so how Random !
    Please share more tennis randomness :)
     
    #1
  2. dlk

    dlk Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,149
    Location:
    Indy
    My daughter did it once (9 y/o):)
     
    #2
  3. hescobal

    hescobal Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    SF, Lower Pac Heights
    I must be special, I've done it twice
     
    #3
  4. soleil

    soleil Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Happened to my little sister a few times :)
     
    #4
  5. danielrios

    danielrios Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Haha Lol, I did it once with a 6.1 tour, and thought the same. I did look to the sky several times until I realize what really happened.
     
    #5
  6. soleil

    soleil Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Haha that's exactly what happens!
     
    #6
  7. Jaewonnie

    Jaewonnie Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142
    Happened to me when trying to backhand volley. I knew I framed somthing but no shot came off so looked at my throat and there it was :p

    Similar thing happened to me when playing badminton with crappy school rackets. The guy lobbed it over the net and I smashed at it like mad and the birdie disappeared. Look at my racket and the birder was stuck in between my strings.
     
    #7
  8. GetBetterer

    GetBetterer Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,648
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    Happened on a forehand to me (lol I know). It was a heavily sidespun (lefty) slice which I swung at because it was slow, and to my amazement, got stuck right in the throat.
     
    #8
  9. Steady Eddy

    Steady Eddy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,546
    Location:
    Arizona
    I've seen it happen more than once, every time on an overhead. Each time everyone looked around for where the ball was, until it would be discovered in the throat of the racquet.
     
    #9
  10. SFrazeur

    SFrazeur Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,476
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Never happened to me. However, I've seen it happen upwards of a dozen of so times.

    -SF
     
    #10
  11. RealityPolice

    RealityPolice Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    252
    Serena at work.

    /kidding
     
    #11
  12. kishnabe

    kishnabe G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    17,204
    Location:
    Toronto
    I did it three times....really funny sometimes!
     
    #12
  13. VGP

    VGP Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    6,311
    Location:
    Location: Location
    This too happened a couple of times to my sister while we were playing over the years.....

    So, what's the rule if this happens?

    Can you then throw your racket over the net into your opponent's court and claim the point?

    Or does your swing have to be one motion? Like how you can't "carry" the ball....
     
    #13
  14. Steady Eddy

    Steady Eddy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,546
    Location:
    Arizona
    This was discussed once here before. You can't do that, :( , you lose the point.
     
    #14
  15. max

    max Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,682
    I had that happen once.
     
    #15
  16. 8F93W5

    8F93W5 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    I've seen it maybe 3 times. I've been playing since 1988
     
    #16
  17. donnygg

    donnygg Rookie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    262
    LOL!

    10 char
     
    #17
  18. Noltae

    Noltae Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Didn't realize folk would have seen this happen as much as they claim - obviously not finding the sweet spot that day guys lol !
    Now for my second installment of randomness ! ... I played against a friend who badly shanked a 1st serve which resulted in the ball rebounding off the adjacent floodlight post and then back into play consequently aceing me ... It was too funny needless to say I gave him the point ! Not even sure of the rules on this one ...
     
    #18
  19. dr325i

    dr325i Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,300
    Location:
    TX
    my 9-y-o daughter did it twice in last 30 days...
     
    #19
  20. ProgressoR

    ProgressoR Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,005
    Location:
    No Man's Land
    Been playing a year it happened to be about a month ago. I was hitting an overhead badly and thought I framed it and look upwards for it. Then my coach who was watching started laughing and I saw it stuck in the throat. Very funny.
     
    #20
  21. PeterPanda

    PeterPanda Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    CT
    in the past year like 4 times.
     
    #21
  22. Big boss.

    Big boss. New User

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    My girlfreind was watching me play, so I was trying to show off, the guy hits a lob after forcing me to the net, I tried to smash it over my head, and this happened! The crowd laughed at me as I turned around everywhere looking for it, my face turning red. I assumed I lost the point, thus me losing the third set on the thirtieth deuce, I was so pissed that when I went to smash my racket on the floor, I noticed, and literally fell over laughing. :)
     
    #22
  23. Leelord337

    Leelord337 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    univ houston courts
    That happened to me a few times actually! been years since its happened though.

    The oddball thing that happened to me during a match once is that somebody else hit a ball on our court and it hit our rally ball in mid-Air!!! I thought that was very very crazy! I guess I've spent too many hours on court :)
     
    #23
  24. pkshooter

    pkshooter Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    In front of the TV
    I've seen it happen frequently... Never had the joy me self doe
     
    #24
  25. pingu

    pingu Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    407
    It happened during our doubles match last week when my partner hit a soft return, the other net guy saw the opportunity and whacked the ball as he loves to do. The ball some how got stuck on the throat of his racket and all players around saw it and laughed so hard. As for me and my partner, we not only felt great to win that lucky point, we also enjoy seeing this cocky dude embarrassed himself.
     
    #25
  26. NTexas

    NTexas New User

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    76
    Happened to me but also saved my nuts. Doubles opponent hit a smash at point blank range. i put my racquet down to save me and it stuck in the neck, man it was close to being ugly.
     
    #26
  27. max

    max Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,682
    I think I"ve also done this at least twice, but you know, this really is not to my credit! :)
     
    #27
  28. Tamiya

    Tamiya Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    AU, SG, MY
    what's the call in these situations... is ball still "in play" until it next hits the ground in/out? :twisted:
     
    #28
  29. Fuji

    Fuji Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6,597
    I`ve done it once on an overhead, and once on a serve. The serve one blew my mind since I was trying to see where my ball went off the toss. Screwed me right up! :razz:

    -Fuji
     
    #29
  30. RogueFLIP

    RogueFLIP Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    797
    Haven't seen this in a long time....

    But yes, very, very funny when everyone is looking at the sky, at the ground, like where did the ball go? And then realizing that the ball is in someone's racket.

    Thanks for the good chuckle from my memory banks. :)
     
    #30

Share This Page