Balls from from my pocket - Rules / Courtesy

Discussion in 'Odds & Ends' started by MoDaisy, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. MoDaisy

    MoDaisy New User

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    I was playing a mixed doubles match yesterday and had a situation occur that got a little heated. In the 3rd set tie-breaker at 3 - 2 we got into a long rally with our opponents. I feel certain that we played at least 20 balls and the point was finally won when a short lob was put away by me. Anticipating the court switch I reached into my pocket to ball the extra ball out and realized that it wasnt there. It had fallen out at during the point but I am not sure when. As soon I noticed the ball one of my opponents said "I guess we when the point". I mentioned to her that she could not call a let after the point ended and she said - The point is automatically ours. We had a discussion about the rules and her partner agreed with us, that a let could be called them but it had to occur while the point was in play.

    I have since reviewed the rules and feel certain that I made the correct ruling - (Please point me in the right direciton if not) - But, here is my question: Since this was a recreational league match and considering the fact that she did not know the rule, should "courtesy" have been giving to my opponent such that we just replayed the point?

    Thoughts? Opinions?
     
    #1
  2. Racer41c

    Racer41c Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    779
    The rules are the rules. What I see time and again are individuals who think they know a rule but interpret it wrong. So giving in in the name of "courtesy" only furthers that person's inaccurate understanding. The only "courtsey" rule I'm in favor of is when a receiving team makes a line call but they over rule themselves and we replay the point. In my opinion that's good "sportsmanship".
     
    #2
  3. jrod

    jrod Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    This is pretty simple in my view. The let has to be called during the point being played, preferably as soon as someone notices the errant ball. Since no one called a let during the point, it stands as played.

    Do you honestly think your opponent would be asking for a let if she had won the point? In my view, she is not deserving of any courtesy since she was being completely self-serving in trying to manufacture another chance to win a point she had just lost.
     
    #3
  4. MoDaisy

    MoDaisy New User

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    I do agree and just want to add one thing - She honestly felt as if her interpretation of the rule was correct - That the point was automatically theirs so she did'nt stop play or call a let as she didnt feel as if she had to.
     
    #4
  5. Geezer Guy

    Geezer Guy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Big Canoe, GA
    Well, first of all the ball-out-of-pocket "let" needs to be called immediately - not after the point. Second, the FIRST time it happens the point is simply replayed as a "let". If it happens again, the team that dropped the ball would lose the point.

    So, in your particular case, it wasn't a "let" because no one called it immediately. If it HAD been called, the point would have been replayed - not an automatic loss of point.

    BUT - could you have played a let just as a matter of courtesy? That's what I would have offered to do.
     
    #5
  6. 10s talk

    10s talk Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    "we when" ? :shock:
     
    #6
  7. West Coast Ace

    West Coast Ace G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,689
    Location:
    So Cal
    As others have alluded to: "All points played in good faith shall stand."
     
    #7

Share This Page