Bryan Brothers, Hawk-eye, and the net...

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by JohnS, Jul 10, 2007.

  1. JohnS

    JohnS Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    530
    Hello all, I was wondering, did they ever show if the Bryan's racquet had ever touched the net? There was a huge arguement about that and I don't recall a replay ever being shown.

    They had asked for a challenge and the chair didnt give it to them. I have seen on TV that "Hawkeye" or whatever has shown the ball's trajectory over the net, but can it detect anything else?
     
    #1
  2. baselinerT

    baselinerT Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    204
    that was almost a yard between them and the net
     
    #2
  3. pro_staff

    pro_staff Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    463
    They showed a slow motion replay on TV during the changeover. CLEARLY did not touch the net. All the announcers said it themselves.
     
    #3
  4. saram

    saram Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,371
    didn't see it--but hawkeye only marks the travel of the ball...not player's movement, etc....
     
    #4
  5. InvisibleSoul

    InvisibleSoul Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,929
    Yeah, wasn't even iffy. Absolutely no possibility the racquet touched the net.
     
    #5
  6. anchorsteamer

    anchorsteamer Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    That was unbelievable...Lars butchered that as badly as anything I've ever seen on a non african tennis in my life...that was ridiculous
     
    #6
  7. Deuce

    Deuce Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5,270
    Location:
    A not so parallel universe...
    The real question is...
    Did the ball touch Ken Flach's hair?
     
    #7
  8. roundiesee

    roundiesee Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,861
    Deuce, if I remember correctly, it did, but I think it was ruled in favour of Seguso and Flach in the end right? Even though slow mo showed the ball might have just touched a whiff of hair... anybody else remembered this incident?
     
    #8
  9. Deuce

    Deuce Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5,270
    Location:
    A not so parallel universe...
    Yeah, that's about right.
    Flach could have called it on himself, but didn't. Noah was basically begging him to call it on himself, but he refused to. Noah was quite angry.
    For those wondering what in hell we're discussing, this was the U.S. Open final, mid-80s.
     
    #9
  10. spaceman_spiff

    spaceman_spiff Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    The crappest town in Britain
    Ok, just a point for everyone who keeps arguing about this call: it didn't matter!

    I was at that match (not sitting in a position to see whether or not he touched the net), and I can tell you that, had the umpire not called a touch, the Bryans were still in a level position at best with the French in that particular point. After the volley, the ball was travelling wide but not all that fast towards Clement, who was in a good position to hit a thumping forehand. Plus, Mike Bryan was still back at the baseline, so the Bryans were not in a commanding position.

    Also, the Bryans were way down in that particular game and looked unlikely to hold, even if they won that point. Clement and Llodra were blasting their returns that game.

    Finally, the Bryans had little hope of winning that match, because they couldn't return well enough to break either Frenchman the whole match. The best they could hope for was tie-breakers, which could not be counted on for the fifth set. So, even if they made it to five, it would only have been a matter of time before one of them was broken (most likely Mike).

    I (in addition to quite a lot of people in the crowd) was cheering for the Bryans, but after the first set, they never looked like winning. There was no atmosphere on court that suggested that they were going to make a fight of it. It all came down to serve returns.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2007
    #10
  11. tennis_hand

    tennis_hand Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,427
    well, umpires stick to their decisions even if it is wrong. otherwise, there will be too many arguments.
     
    #11
  12. dukemunson

    dukemunson Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    278
    The Flach incident was a joke...he's an embarasment
     
    #12

Share This Page