Busted Racket...Still Playing?

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by ttbrowne, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. ttbrowne

    ttbrowne Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,622
    Recently in a USTA singles match, our guy had won the first set and was a game away from taking the 2nd set & match. His opponent got angry (at himself) and smashed his racket. Just cracked the frame. He continued playing and lost the first point. Then he smashed his racket (same one) again. This time it did that crazy bent thing at the top. We all thought he'd go get another out of his bag, but he didn't! He stepped back and told our guy to serve. Our guy just smiled, shrugged and served. The opponent actually returned the serve! But it was put away. Well, our guy won the set and match, but it started me wondering...can you do that? Play with a busted up racket with crap hanging off of it?
    It was something I'll never forget.
     
    #1
  2. LuckyR

    LuckyR Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6,404
    Location:
    The Great NW

    I am not aware of a specific rule. But my guess is that technically the raquet would be illegal under the spaghetti string rule, that is because the head is broken the ball can interact with the racquet multiple time per shot or the double hit rule.
     
    #2
  3. ttbrowne

    ttbrowne Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,622
    Luck,
    Thanks! It was the strangest thing I'd ever seen in a sanctioned match.
     
    #3
  4. LuckyR

    LuckyR Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6,404
    Location:
    The Great NW
    Can't say that I have witnessed it myself.
     
    #4
  5. eagle

    eagle Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,589
    Location:
    Kona, Hawaii
    And of course the racquet apologized for his bad play which caused the player to lose his temper right?

    So, long as the racquet realizes it was his fault then it's all good. :)

    r,
    eagle
     
    #5
  6. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    In professional tennis, you are not allowed to play with a racket with broken strings. In all amateur tennis, you are allowed to play with broken strings.

    As far as the double hit rule goes, if you inadvertently hit the ball twice in the same swing motion, it is legal.

    There is no rule that says you can't play with a racket with a broken frame.
     
    #6

Share This Page