Can I return the ball (i'm not the receiver) if our opponent hits a drop serve?

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by pmata814, Apr 2, 2008.

  1. pmata814

    pmata814 Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,195
    I'm not sure if this is the correct forum for this (I apologize if it's not) but here it goes.

    Last night I was playing doubles and my partner was receiving on the deuce side. I was standing in the center of the ad service box. The server hit a drop serve to try and surprise him. My partner got to it, but now I'm wondering if it would have been legal for me to return it. Does anybody know?

    thanks in advance.
     
    #1
  2. raiden031

    raiden031 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    5,997
    There is no restriction on where each returning player must line up while receiving serve. What would stop you from returning every serve regardless of where in the service box your opponent hits the ball? So the answer is no.
     
    #2
  3. baek57

    baek57 Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    lol... do it.
     
    #3
  4. matchpoint

    matchpoint Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    220
    NO.

    USTA Rule 15. order of Receiving in Doubles
    The team which is due to receive in the first game of a set shall decide which player shall receive the first point. Similarly, before the second game starts, their opponents shall decide which player shall receive the first point of the game, etc...
     
    #4
  5. BallBeemer

    BallBeemer Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    No You can't
     
    #5
  6. 10s talk

    10s talk Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    573
    YES you can ! if it is the first point of the set then receiver sides have not been established


    otherwise no
     
    #6
  7. C_Urala

    C_Urala Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    480
    are you a lawyer? ;)
     
    #7
  8. fuzz nation

    fuzz nation Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    8,631
    Well you can, but... you'd have to be one helluva debater to actually keep the point! Pull that one off and I'd say you've got a serious future in advertising... or politics.
     
    #8
  9. Kaptain Karl

    Kaptain Karl Hall Of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5,236
    Location:
    The High Country of Colorado
    <Mod Mode> The trolling posts have been removed. You people surprise me. I'd have thought you'd be more helpful ... and help spread the love of the game of tennis. </Mod Mode>
    _____________

    Many of us forget what it was like to be newer to the game.

    Tuesday, I coached my #2 Doubles HS girls to play "two back" on the Deuce side returns. (Our player was hitting every return right to their net player; my Ad player was getting *shelled*.) My girls immediate question was, "Is that allowed?"

    Geez!!! My girls' Coach must really stink!

    - KK
     
    #9

Share This Page