Can the server call a let?

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by aka1809, Apr 7, 2014.

  1. aka1809

    aka1809 New User

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    By let, I mean the traditional let of the ball hitting the net and bouncing in.
     
    #1
  2. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    The server can call a net ball, but its up to the receiver to call the ball in or out.

     
    #2
  3. McLovin

    McLovin Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,190
    Correct. As The Code item #27 states:
    See http://assets.usta.com/assets/1/15/2. The Code.4.pdf
     
    #3
  4. sjoerdklarenbeek

    sjoerdklarenbeek Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Zaandam, The Netherlands
    I called a let on my own serve yesterday without any protest from my opponent. He might have heard it as well. We never spent a word on it. But it was one of those matches without a single disputed call.
     
    #4
  5. McLovin

    McLovin Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,190
    [​IMG]
     
    #5
  6. TennisCJC

    TennisCJC Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,365
    yea, my captain looked up this rule a couple of seasons ago. Any player in singles or doubles can call a let but you obviously cannot call your own serve in.
     
    #6
  7. PMChambers

    PMChambers Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    922
    You can call whatever you want, just you don't have jurisdiction over it. I call my service fault for center line it's hard one to see for a returner. It's a game not an occupation for most of us. I also inquire about dodgy fault calls, but don't do anything other than inquire. You should call any out ball and let and play any uncertain ball as in.
     
    #7
  8. beernutz

    beernutz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,412
    Location:
    expanding my Ignore List
    Calling lets on aces is why lets are now played in U.S. collegiate tennis. Maybe if we start doing the same in USTA we can get the rule changed to play service lets?
     
    #8
  9. PMChambers

    PMChambers Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    922
    Really? I just get a good amount of aces called fault instead. What's strange is it's not losing the point that causes people to miss call, it the ace part. I don't get nonreturnable serves called faults, just aces. There's this belief by people if they can't touch it, it's got to be out. What's worse is most my aces tend to be slow breakers wide so moderately easy to call. It's life you really can't do anything about it, I'm positive I make bad calls as well. It's such a fast game.
     
    #9
  10. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    This is wrong. Anyone on the court has "jurisdiction" to call a let when the serve hits the net cord and goes over. However, only the receiver has "jurisdiction" to call it in or out.

     
    #10
  11. beernutz

    beernutz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,412
    Location:
    expanding my Ignore List
    Not on first serves I hope.
     
    #11
  12. PMChambers

    PMChambers Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    922
    Not according to the rule books I've read. A server can't over rule a fault call by the receiver. He can argue but the receiver has the call. The side playing the ball always has the justification over the ball they're playing. A net is on no side and can be called by either.

    Absolutely, the returners really struggle with the center line. If I miraculously get my first serve going the return ends up further back than me from the service line as well. I don't play clear faults just because the opposition somehow arsed a return and decided to play it as a result. Most players are happy to have unreturned big serves called as fault.

    Any ball I see out is called out, any ball I can't see gets played in. That's my rules and I live by them and I rarely have arguments as a result. But I'd win more often if I didn't and effectively cheated, I'd also make 100x more cash as a result, which is about $0.
     
    #12
  13. pinky42

    pinky42 Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    While it appears that your intentions are good, you should not always do that. The rule of thumb I use is to only call a first serve out if it will benefit my opponent.

    1. You hit an ace or your opponent hits a bad return. Go ahead and call it out. A look at a second serve is better than them losing the point outright.
    2. Your opponent hit the return for a winner. Don't call the serve out.
    3. Your opponent hits a weak reply. Don't call the serve out. This may seem odd, but if you call it out you give yourself another chance at an ace and your opponent has a chance of hitting a bad return.
     
    #13
  14. PMChambers

    PMChambers Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    922
    I don't play obvious out balls just to make my opponent feel superior. I've played player in the lower div when I was a junior many years ago who waited to see the return before calling the serve. It's called cheating, I don't care for it. If they want the point and game that much they can have it, technically they can call any ball out or in on their side when ever they want . The games about playing a fair game not about stretching the rules.
     
    #14
  15. bluegrass_stringer

    bluegrass_stringer Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    508
    Every call is made by the person on the side of the net where the ball is bouncing. I agree that playing an obvious out ball is as bad as calling an in ball "out". But, sometimes people don't mean to play the obvious out ball, they are just trying to not call an "in" ball "out". The service line can be hard to judge. Always play "till the whistle". I have seen some instances where the returner plays an obvious out ball, the server knows it was out, and the returner will then "confirm" with the server. In practice matches, line calls are totally different. I play with pretty honest people, and we will make calls on ourselves if they don't have a good view of it, and the scenario with the serves, we will play a let or something fair.
     
    #15

Share This Page