Can you call your own let?

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by directionals, Jan 13, 2013.

  1. directionals

    directionals Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    I played a USTA match today and my component called his own let after doing one of his serves. I returned the ball for a winner. He said he called a let but I said the server can't call his own let. Who is right?
     
    #1
  2. eyedropper

    eyedropper New User

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    The server can call a let on their own serve. They need to actually verbally call let though. Not just say "oh by the way it was a let" after your winner goes past them
     
    #2
  3. Fearsome Forehand

    Fearsome Forehand Professional

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,185
    Location:
    USA
    You would have to consult the rules. One would think in a casual match, fine. In a the official rules apply match, no as generally, all calls are made by the player on the active side of the net, lines, serves in or out, etc.

    However, according to the USTA site, the answer is yes, a server can call an unheard by others let ( presumably as long as he does so immediately not after a ten ball rally. )

    Seems like a weird rule to me. If the receiver, doesn't hear/notice a let, it must not have been much of a let and I would say play on, but evidently, the rules say otherwise.

    From the USTA site:

    If my opponent serves and I call a let, but he does not agree, who has the final say?

    Few people know this, but according to "The Code, a Players' Guide to Unofficiated Matches", any player (in singles or doubles) can call a service let (ball touching the net). It must be done promptly. Usually the receiver(s) make the call and many players on the serving side decide not to get involved with the call thinking maybe they were mistaken.

    If the server hears a clear let and the receiver does not call it, it is best for the server to call it ASAP. Otherwise, the server hears a let and the receiver hits a winner, and after some hesitation, the server asks "Did you hear a let?" That is always difficult situation to resolve after the point has been played.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2013
    #3
  4. North

    North Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    937
    Either the server or receiver can call a service let. It just needs to be a prompt call, so as not to allow either player the proverbial "two bites at the apple".
     
    #4
  5. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,069
    And there is no need to say, "Let! Did anyone else hear a let?"

    If you heard it, call it with confidence.

    If you aren't sure, keep quiet and play on.
     
    #5
  6. slowfox

    slowfox Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,110
    What do they do in college tennis? I vaguely recall reading about "no lets" or something to cut down on cheating and gamesmanship. No sure though.
     
    #6
  7. dizzlmcwizzl

    dizzlmcwizzl Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,171
    Location:
    DE
    Yep ... college players play the lets. To often these players would yell let after any Ace ... so they just removed the let from the game
     
    #7
  8. Big_Dangerous

    Big_Dangerous Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    God that has to be so infuriating when the ball hits the net and just trickles over double bouncing before you can get there. And on the flip side it has to be a nightmare for the server to hit a let that takes a lot of the pace off the ball, but it's enough to just sit up there for the receiver to punish it for a winner.

    I can't imagine playing lets in the pro game, it would be so ridiculous.
     
    #8
  9. dizzlmcwizzl

    dizzlmcwizzl Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,171
    Location:
    DE
    It really does not happen that often. They play lets in WTT and this has little to no effect on match results.
     
    #9
  10. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    server or receiver can call service lets.

    In college, it's only Men's Division 1 that eliminated the service let.
     
    #10
  11. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Usually, but I worked on the box for a WTT match in Hartford about 6 years ago where 4 times on the 3-3 game point (no ad), the server for the same team hit a let serve that bounced way up, and all 4 times the receiving team put away an easy winner. (2 of them were doubles, and in WTT, the receiver's partner can return a serve that hits the net first, and those 2 times in that one match were the only 2 times in my 7 years of chairing WTT matches that I saw a receiver's partner return a serve.)
     
    #11
  12. Joeyg

    Joeyg Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Sarcasm, USA
    In my opinion, the stupidest WTT rule ever. However, I am not a big WTT fan, anyway.
     
    #12
  13. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    You are wrong. The stupidest WTT rule ever is that the umpire has to stand on that damn box. It's uncomfortable, and after 2 1/2-3 hours, my feet and back are sore! :)
     
    #13
  14. Coach Carter

    Coach Carter Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    West Point, GA
    Anyone can call a let, just as said earlier...call it with confidence.

    I just get frustrated when as happened the other day in my match, I hit a hard slice that cut away from receiver for easy ace. They call a let. It was easily a foot and a half over net...my partner turned and said "they called a let". I was "holy %#$@ you can't be serious"...and they were serious.
     
    #14
  15. chatt_town

    chatt_town Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,995
    I'm sure you can because I've been in many doubles matches where I or my partner or the people serving on the other side have called lets as I'm standing right on top of the net. So I'm not surprised. It seems like it would be a little weird though for one to do it in singles.


     
    #15
  16. OrangePower

    OrangePower Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,058
    Location:
    NorCal Bay Area
    I often call lets on my own serve in singles. It's just instinct for me to call let as soon as I hear/see it, regardless of whether I'm server or receiver.

    Usually when I do it on my serve, the receiver calls it pretty much at the same time as I do. But there have been times where I've heard the let but the receiver did not.

    There has never been a dispute that I can remember... calling it early helps; since I usually call it before/as the receiver is making the return, there can be no accusation that I called it only after seeing the opponent make a winning return.
     
    #16
  17. Joeyg

    Joeyg Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Sarcasm, USA
    Wait until you are my age...The hits just keep on coming!
     
    #17
  18. NLBwell

    NLBwell Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,112
    If any of the players hear a let they must call a let.
     
    #18
  19. chatt_town

    chatt_town Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,995
    Truth is...I've called them as well. I guess I'm a little more leary of it in singles as I'm not at the net. If ti's obvious and ticks the net loud enough that I can hear it...yea I'll call it. I guess I was speaking of the one that barely tick the net and you can only hear it if you are standing there. So I understand where you are coming from.

     
    #19

Share This Page