Can you change a raqcuet during a game (string not broken)?

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by borisboris, Jul 15, 2004.

  1. borisboris

    borisboris Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    486
    :p Can a player change a racquet during a game - say @ 30-30? I know if the strings pop it ok but what about a sound racquet? Thanks
     
    #1
  2. Camilio Pascual

    Camilio Pascual Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,825
    Yes, there is no rule against it. Just don't break any other rules while doing it.
     
    #2
  3. TwistServe

    TwistServe Guest

    Yes its okay.. I remember Venus Williams did it a few times during a set.. Kept grabbing a new racquet as if it was the racquet's fault..
     
    #3
  4. Bungalo Bill

    Bungalo Bill G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    11,885
    I understand where your going on this, but I think when pros reach for a new racquet it is because the string tension is not right for the temperature, humidity level, elevation, and court surface or a combination of things.

    The pros have great feel for how the ball is hit, so when they reach for the bag it is usually for good reason.
     
    #4
  5. Camilio Pascual

    Camilio Pascual Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,825
    That is an astute observation, Gorth 97, and shows us what a smart player Venus is if she was upset with her play. Displacement of anger or frustration with one's self onto an inanimate object can be a wise psychological coping mechanism. She may have done it for the reasons BB suggested or for the reason I think you are suggesting. Do you remember if she played notably better or worse when she quit changing racquets? Did she win the set?
     
    #5
  6. TennsDog

    TennsDog Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,277
    Forget in the middle of the game...I did it in the middle of a point. I was playing doubles in a high school tournament, down break and match point on my serve. I was playing with my racket that was strung longer so it lost tension and feel. I really did not want to double fault the match away, so after I missed my first serve, I went to my bag an grabbed a racket with a higher tension. It worked, my second serve went in, however, we did still lose...but not on a double fault. :)
     
    #6
  7. tetsuo10

    tetsuo10 Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    How is that in the middle of a point? I figured you'd tell some story of a rally where you hit the ball, ran to your bag to grab a different racquet, and then somehow got back in time to continued playing. 8)
     
    #7
  8. TennsDog

    TennsDog Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,277
    Once you strike the ball, the point has begun. Even though the first serve was out, the point had started.
     
    #8
  9. tetsuo10

    tetsuo10 Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    If you break your string on the first serve and it's a fault, you can replace your racquet but you only get a 2nd serve. If you break your string during a rally, you have to play with the racquet. Big difference.
     
    #9
  10. TennsDog

    TennsDog Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,277
    I know what you are saying. I didn't break a string, I just wanted a newer string and I hit a second serve. My point was just that it happened within a point.
     
    #10

Share This Page