Can you hit the ball with your head?

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by ubermeyer, Aug 11, 2009.

  1. ubermeyer

    ubermeyer Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,176
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
  2. dave333

    dave333 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,018
    wait....whoa. wtf. it really does look like he is headbutting it....
     
    #2
  3. Hidious

    Hidious Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,201
    The ball had bounced twice on Del Potro's side, the point was already won.
     
    #3
  4. GPG

    GPG Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    663
    the ball already did it's 2nd bounce. You can see how Delpo was walking to his seet
     
    #4
  5. akv89

    akv89 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,587
    I think that Federer was awarded the point because Del Potro couldn't get to the ball before the 2nd bounce.

    Hitting the ball with any part of your body means that you lose the point.
     
    #5
  6. ubermeyer

    ubermeyer Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,176
    Location:
    Texas
    oh, I didn't see it bounce twice, thanks.
     
    #6
  7. DownTheLine

    DownTheLine Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,406
    Apperently. LOL
     
    #7
  8. federer envies me

    federer envies me Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    632
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    haha it would be so sick if that was actually legal
     
    #8
  9. Terr

    Terr Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    梦想
    No, but the ball can hit me on my head. If it'd really like.
     
    #9
  10. psp2

    psp2 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,102
    You can hear the chair ump saying "not up".
     
    #10
  11. coloskier

    coloskier Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541
    The official rules are that once the ball hits ANY part of your body, including your hand, the play is dead and you lose the point.
     
    #11

Share This Page