Catching the toss with your raquet

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by chatt_town, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. chatt_town

    chatt_town Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,989
    Is this considered a fault? I may have asked this before but I never came back to see what the answer was. Anyway, I was watching a tourney and a guy caught his toss with his raquet and one of the other guys said that was a double fault(He'd missed his first) and took the point. So is this true? A guy on the side said that wasn't true because the guy has to actually go into a service motion for it to be considered a serve. The guy on the court said if you toss the ball and then it makes contact with your raquet before your hand, it is an attempt to serve. What's the official rule?

    Peace,

    Chatt_town
     
    #1
  2. johndagolfer

    johndagolfer Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    797
    From that post, the rule states you actually have to go into the service motion. So just catching the ball with your racquet is not a fault.

    I can't see why would anyone would do this unless it's a seriously bad toss.
     
    #2
  3. chatt_town

    chatt_town Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,989
    Well you know what I was sitting there and didn't actually see it but from what I can tell and what I remember happening to Marat one match, he probably would have been considered in his service motion. I remember once he was starting his back foot on the other side of the hash and the umpire called a fault for him doing so. It was real funny because the ignorant annoucers didn't even know the rule and talked about the umpire like a dog only to find out the umpire was right. They thought that because once he actually hit the ball his foot was on the correct side there was nothing wrong, but it was actually a fault because once he threw the ball up, he was actually considered to be in his service motion. So if I go back to that then this guy was surely in his service motion whether he swung at the ball or not. I don't know how you could toss the ball without being in his service motion. So I guess I just answered my own question. I'll wait for an official ruling from one of the umpires here. I saw a couple in another thread earlier.

    Chatt_town
     
    #3
  4. SweetH2O

    SweetH2O Rookie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Powder Springs, GA
    #4
  5. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    OP, here you go. Read Case 1 out of the rulebook.

    19. SERVICE FAULT
    The service is a fault if:
    a.
    The server breaks rules 16, 17, or 18; or

    b.
    The server misses the ball when trying to hit it; or

    c.
    The ball served touches a permanent fixture, singles stick or net post before
    it hits the ground; or

    d.
    The ball served touches the server or server’s partner, or anything the server
    or server’s partner is wearing or carrying.

    Case 1:
    After tossing a ball to serve, the server decides not to hit it and catches it
    instead. Is this a fault?

    Decision:
    No. A player, who tosses the ball and then decides not to hit it, is allowed

    to catch the ball with the hand or the racket, or to let the ball bounce.
     
    #5
  6. chatt_town

    chatt_town Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,989
    Thanks

    I appreciate that.
     
    #6
  7. West Coast Ace

    West Coast Ace G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,217
    Location:
    So Cal
    Woodrow, so catching it with the racket means there was no 'intent' to hit it? And if so, what about the case where the server 'aborts' the swing (hears a noise as he/she starts the downswing) - but barely touches the ball?
     
    #7
  8. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    For me, starting the downswing would indicate a swing and a fault. I would have to see it happen to answer it clearly though.
     
    #8
  9. West Coast Ace

    West Coast Ace G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,217
    Location:
    So Cal
    (As always), thanks.
     
    #9

Share This Page