Dampener?

Discussion in 'Racquets' started by cukoo, Oct 18, 2007.

  1. cukoo

    cukoo Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    767
    IS there a rule as to where a dampener can be placed? Would it be legal to place it on the side of the frame or middle?

    Also, where do most pros like Agassi or Sampras place their's, above the last cross or below?
    Thanks
     
    #1
  2. Bundey

    Bundey Professional

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    It is illegal to have it above the last cross. So, yes my understanding is that on the sides would be illegal. BTW, why would you want it in the middle?
     
    #2
  3. cukoo

    cukoo Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    767
    No just a hypothetical question. I just wanted to know where it was legal for the dampener can be placed.
     
    #3
  4. 757tennis

    757tennis Rookie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    VA
    ive seen someone at my clinic that has 2 dampeners: one above the first cross and one below the last cross is that illegal?
     
    #4
  5. Bundey

    Bundey Professional

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Yes. Can't have anything above the first cross, although unless you are playing some serious tournaments, nobody will get called for it.
     
    #5
  6. Weedcutter

    Weedcutter New User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Also if it falls off during a point. You lose that point
     
    #6
  7. LPShanet

    LPShanet Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,618
    Actually, what people are telling you so far on this post is incorrect per the official rules. The actual rule reads that the dampener must be placed "outside the pattern of crossed strings". That means you CAN put it above the height of the bottom cross, as long as it's on the outside edge (meaning outside the last main on the sides or above the top cross). However, it is illegal to place one in the middle of the frame (part of the same ruling as the spaghetti string prohibition).

    So to answer your second question, most pros place theirs below the bottom cross, because they CAN'T place it above it unless it's at the top or side of the frame.
     
    #7
  8. cukoo

    cukoo Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    767
    ^Thanks for clarifying. Did Sampras place his O dampeners above the bottom cross?
     
    #8
  9. you can hav as many damps as u want as long as they arent in the crossed section
     
    #9
  10. Mr. Hokey

    Mr. Hokey Rookie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    268
    wow. if its illegal... why would he place it there.

    seriously now.
     
    #10
  11. LPShanet

    LPShanet Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,618
    No, he didn't. As I said, that placement is illegal. He placed it below the bottom cross, as do most people.
     
    #11
  12. tennis_hand

    tennis_hand Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,427
    he wants the ball to hit the damper. so he can hit like federer.
     
    #12

Share This Page