Default question

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by 86golf, Oct 9, 2010.

  1. 86golf

    86golf Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Carolinas
    Probably been asked before and I think I know the answer, but can a doubles team show up and play with just one player to avoid a default?

    Along the same lines, if a partner gets hurt, but can remain on the court but not play, can the match continue?
     
    #1
  2. cll30

    cll30 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Answer to question #1 - No

    Answer to question #2 - Yes, but the injured player still has to serve and return serve
     
    #2
  3. Turbo

    Turbo New User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    I asked this a little while ago...You could serve and play if your partner was at least on the court (I think the back fence would be fine). Of course you would lose every game except when you serve unless you play no-ad. When it is your injured partner's serve, under USTA rules you would get a warning, point penalty, then game penalty for delay of game. But then you'd have one more rotation to go through before forfeiting.

    So you would have to default if you knew beforehand. If he got injured near the end of the match or he just needed to rest for a while and you were up a bunch you might be able to pull off a win.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2010
    #3

Share This Page