Disagreement Between Partners on Let Call?

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by tennis tom, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. tennis tom

    tennis tom Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,770
    There is a rule change this year, that in doubles, if one partner on a team disagrees with the other on a call, the opponents get the point. Does this also apply to lets? The rule is, or was, that anyone of the four players can call a let.

    If one partner disagrees with the other, saying that he heard no net, does the point go to the opposition, if it was on a second serve?

    In other words, if three out of the four players say they heard no let, can the one player who claims to have heard the net still prevail under the rule change?
     
    #1
  2. SweetH2O

    SweetH2O Rookie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    Powder Springs, GA
    Anyone on the court can still call a let.

    From the 2011 "A Friend at Court":
    26. Service let calls. Any player may call a service let. The call shall be made before the return of serve goes out of play or is hit by the server or the server’s partner. If the serve is an apparent or near ace, any let shall be called promptly.
     
    #2
  3. JLyon

    JLyon Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,378
    Location:
    AR
    This is not a new rule as far as partner disagreement.

    Also yes Lets can be called by anyone on the court
     
    #3
  4. AR15

    AR15 Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    Gulf Coast, USA

    That rule is about line calls.
     
    #4
  5. bcart1991

    bcart1991 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Location:
    Douglasville, GA
    Disagree about line calls - lose the point.

    Call a let - play a let.
     
    #5
  6. tennis tom

    tennis tom Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,770
    ]

    Thanks all, that's the answer I was looking for.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2011
    #6
  7. dizzlmcwizzl

    dizzlmcwizzl Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    DE
    NO ... the line call rule change was that if you made an out call and then corrected it ... the point was to be given to the opponent.

    As far as partners disagreeing on any call (other than a let perhaps) ... if partners disagree the benefit of the doubt is to always be given to the opponent. This is not a new rule.
     
    #7
  8. LuckyR

    LuckyR Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6,404
    Location:
    The Great NW
    There is a big difference in these rule interpretations between:

    1- One player makes a call and their partner disagrees with the call.

    2- One player makes a call and their partner says: "I didn't see/hear it" when asked by the other team for confirmation

    3- One player makes a call and then retracts the call.
     
    #8
  9. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,095
    No. 1 and No. 3 are the same: Loss of point.
     
    #9
  10. LuckyR

    LuckyR Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6,404
    Location:
    The Great NW
    Yes, but too many competitive players (at least on this board) try to lump #2 with the others.
     
    #10

Share This Page