Disagreement how score is said by receiver/returner?

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by corbind, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. corbind

    corbind Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Scenario:

    Four points have been played in the first game of the match
    The Server won 1 point
    The Returner won 3 points

    How would the Server say the score?
    How would Returner say the score?
     
    #1
  2. tennis tom

    tennis tom Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707
    15-40
    15-40

    Is this a trick question? If I got it wrong, my excuse is I have't had my coffee yet--uh, no, it was the wind,...
    uh, the sun was in my eyes,...

    I reserve the right to change my answer after I'm fully awake, I think this is a trick question...I want to see the Shot-Spot Replay...I'm filing an official protest...I'm changing my answer...40-15, 15-40...I can't remember...I WANT MY MOMMY!
     
    #2
  3. SweetH2O

    SweetH2O Rookie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Powder Springs, GA
    15-40
    15-40
    Server's score comes first no matter who is saying it.

    The only time it gets confusing is during a changeover and someone verifies the number of games won so far in the set. The previous game has ended and the next hasn't begun, so who comes first? I usually say "it will be 3 serving 2" or whatever to be clear as to who has 3 games and who has 2.
     
    #3
  4. Darkhors

    Darkhors Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    The D
    If people aren't sure, I always point to the person whose score I'm saying. So if I were the returner, I would point to the server and say 15, then point to me and say 40.

    Sometimes it's the easiest way to stop the madness.

    DH
     
    #4
  5. Sim

    Sim Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    431
    This is how I do it. Sometimes I'll say 15 serving 40 also just to make things extra clear (if necessary).
     
    #5
  6. NoQuarter

    NoQuarter Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I have always played (and heard) that the server's score comes first....So...
    15-40
    15-40
     
    #6
  7. The Bawss

    The Bawss Banned

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,829
    Location:
    Lyon, France.
    So you're playing with an EXO3 tour and have another racquet strung with natty gut and you don't know that the server's score is always called out first?
     
    #7
  8. jht32

    jht32 Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    245
    Server: "F'ing double-break point"
    Returner: "Double-break point"
     
    #8
  9. corbind

    corbind Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I played I guy who kept saying his score first no matter what. Anyone have a section or link to the USTA rules so I can show him next time I see him that it's customary to always say the server's score first?
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2011
    #9
  10. jht32

    jht32 Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    245
    #10
  11. PushyPushster

    PushyPushster Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    ... I always thought you said your score first. So,

    Server: 15-40
    Returner: 40-15

    If I play this sport for another 5 years I might just learn some of the rules.
     
    #11
  12. volleygirl

    volleygirl Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    404
    You never watch a match on tv? Just once doing that would show you that the servers score is ALWAYS said first.
     
    #12
  13. GlennK

    GlennK Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    That would be way too confusing. As the rule says, the server's score first.

    15-40
    15-40.
     
    #13
  14. jht32

    jht32 Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    245
    Watching a match on TV wouldn't help someone who learned to announce the score incorrectly. The players do not announce their score on TV. The announcers or umpire will announce the score.
     
    #14
  15. BobFL

    BobFL Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Orlando
    It happened to me once. Well, what can I say?! Only complete %#^^&#%@@& can call the score from "their perspective". That was his official explanation in my case ("I'm calling the score from my perspective"). So, I serve and he calls "ad out" which actually was game point for me. How idiotic is that?
     
    #15
  16. Soianka

    Soianka Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,905
    Why would the returner ever be saying the score anyway?
     
    #16
  17. volleygirl

    volleygirl Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    404


    So hearing the servers score said first every single time by the announcer would just come across as a coincidence then?
     
    #17
  18. Tar Heel Tennis

    Tar Heel Tennis Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    North Carolina
    it happens quite often in USTA junior tournaments, especially in the 12s/14s. "what's the score?"
     
    #18
  19. jht32

    jht32 Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    245
    Nope.

    If "Joe" incorrectly thinks that the score should be called from one's perspective when playing, then hearing an announcer announce the score as opposed to the players announcing the score will not necessarily teach Joe to call out the score correctly.

    Joe may conclude that a third party always calls out the servers score first and can incorrectly continue to think that a player calls out the scores from his perspective.

    Therefore, the best way to inform Joe of the correct way to call out the score is to point Joe to the rules as opposed to telling Joe to watch a match on TV. Simple, no biggie.
     
    #19
  20. dizzlmcwizzl

    dizzlmcwizzl Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,167
    Location:
    DE
    Really ... 19 replies to say always call the severs score first. :confused:
     
    #20
  21. cll30

    cll30 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Do any of you old-timers ever say 5-40?
     
    #21
  22. rjw

    rjw Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Miami
    Yes

    I thought that ONLY the server should call out the score and the server's score first.

    I sometimes have to ask my opponents to please call out the score.

    Then someone else I play calls out the score even if he's not serving....

    go figure...

    I always call out the score when I'm serving and ask my opponents to please call it out when they are serving.

    Is it that complicated? maybe it is...:)

    How about people who you have to constantly remind to serve from the correct side of their court? another wtf????
     
    #22
  23. Angle Queen

    Angle Queen Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    838
    Location:
    On the deuce side, looking to come in
    Old-timer, here. Check.

    But I've caught myself a time or two...when playing the much younger set and call it out formally.

    But I've also played some of the much older set that would call it out 5-4. LOL

    Only trouble I have on recording a score, sometimes, are with the tiebreak results. Say you lost the first set 13-11 in a TB but then comeback and win the next two sets -3 and -3. I think :confused: it goes down as 6(11)-7, 6-3, 6-3 with the loser's tally of the TB next to their "6" regardless of if it's on the won or lost side. Confirmation anyone?
     
    #23
  24. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,067
    Don't folks use gestures anymore?

    If you need to communicate the score for some reason, you point away from yourself for the opponent's score and point to your chest for your score. So if I'm receiving, I might say, "It's 15 (point to server), 40 (point to myself), right?"

    Clear as can be! :)
     
    #24
  25. Bud

    Bud Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    31,165
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I say 5-4 :twisted:
     
    #25
  26. tennis tom

    tennis tom Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707

    Because the server will not call out the score as the Code says he should.

    I have a number of theories on this:

    1) The server thinks he can better manipulate the score to cheat if he doesn't call it out; fewer witnesses.

    2) Server is trying to get in your head trying to make you think he is smarter then the opponent because he can keep the score without verbalizing it .

    3) Server is too lazy to call it out.

    4) Server is too stupid or constantly mentally confused to keep track of score.
     
    #26
  27. Magnetite

    Magnetite Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    906
    I hate servers that don't call out the score. It makes things awkward and annoying, especially when there's a close call.

    Generally, if the server doesn't call out the score, as the returner I'll yell it out, after each point.

    And yes, if u watch tennis then you'll know the server's score is always called out first.
     
    #27
  28. Datacipher

    Datacipher Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4,611
    I wouldn't get too annoyed by it....some people just aren't used to doing it for whatever reason....could be newbs, new to tournies, or from a different culture.

    If the server doesn't call it out, and it bothers you, I always tell kids to just modestly announce it as the returner.

    No sense in DEMANDING the other guy do it...even if, yes, he should.
     
    #28
  29. Datacipher

    Datacipher Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4,611
    Like Bud, I say it all the time. Didn't know you had to be an old-timer to do it. I know juniors who do it....although maybe they picked it up from me, now that I think about it! LOL
     
    #29
  30. tennis tom

    tennis tom Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707

    I'd probably be considered an "old timer". To me this new fangled saying "5" instead 0f "15" is a "new timers" thing. I like to go by the rules and traditions of the game because it makes things move along the most efficiently, therefore I say 15 rather than 5. Five could be mistaken for the set score and then someone decides to say 4 instead of 40-- and it goes down hill from there. I don't like it when people start coming up with their own idiosyncratic scoring and language for the game I love. They are almost always also mediocre players and seem a bit crazy.
     
    #30
  31. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    The tiebreak score goes after. 7-6(11) or 6-7(11)
     
    #31
  32. Angle Queen

    Angle Queen Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    838
    Location:
    On the deuce side, looking to come in
    Thanks, Woodrow. But I must admit it's still a bit confusing since the "11" is next to the "7" (who really had 13). It's then merely just the TB "score" and it goes, as you pointed out, at the end regardless of who won that set. I had a hard time explaining to a non-playing friend why you didn't have to put the entire TB score in the scoreline.
     
    #32

Share This Page