Djokovic has best eyes for tennis- Fed better then Rafa

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by tennis-hero, May 12, 2009.

  1. tennis-hero

    tennis-hero Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,090
    Location:
    uk
    #1
  2. sonicboi21

    sonicboi21 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    364
    But hawkeye has a 5 inch error margin.
    An ump cant overrule a hawkeye call, so it stands.
    For all we know, a lot of calls should be in but are out or vice versa
     
    #2
  3. icedevil0289

    icedevil0289 Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5,793
    Location:
    New Jersey
    good job nole!! Feddie :rolleyes:
     
    #3
  4. Pirao

    Pirao Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    654
    Location:
    Spain
    A 5 inch error margin? Wow, that's a lot, I thought it was more accurate.
     
    #4
  5. gj011

    gj011 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6,548
    Location:
    Back from prison
    Where did you get this?

    Margin of error is 3 mm, not 5 inch.

    My half blind grandma working as a lineswoman, would have a margin of error that is less than a 5 inch.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2009
    #5
  6. Bud

    Bud Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    31,167
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    It appears to be a blog and we all know how accurate blog information can be :roll:
     
    #6
  7. Pirao

    Pirao Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    654
    Location:
    Spain
    That sounds more like it.
     
    #7
  8. Bud

    Bud Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    31,167
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    After reading the blog... it appears the information concerning Hawkeye's accuracy doesn't appear anywhere in the paragraph.
     
    #8
  9. RCizzle65

    RCizzle65 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,928
    Hmm, Fed seems to use his more to release anger than to get close line calls, and I rarely see Nadal get one wrong, I thought they would be flopped.
     
    #9
  10. Bud

    Bud Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    31,167
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Thanks for clearing up the accuracy issue, gj011 :)

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hawk-Eye

    "The Hawk-Eye Innovations website states that the system has an average error of 3.6 mm (it does not indicate what the maximum error is). The standard size of a tennis ball is reportedly 65 to 68 mm. This means that there is a 5% error relative to the diameter of the ball. This could throw into doubt the accuracy of such calls as the one mentioned in the Nadal-Federer 2007 Wimbledon final. For the sake of comparison, approximately 5% of the diameter is the fluff on the ball."
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2009
    #10
  11. cucio

    cucio Legend

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    6,913
    Location:
    Tonginchik
    Same here, I don't carry a tally, but I was under the impression that Nads gets more calls right than Fed. Live and learn.
     
    #11
  12. GameSampras

    GameSampras Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,689
    He may have the best eyes, but he could use some new lungs
     
    #12
  13. aldeayeah

    aldeayeah Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,985
    When Nadal's losing a set he often makes wrong appeals.
     
    #13
  14. delphi17

    delphi17 Rookie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    another one of those , no common sense posts...
     
    #14
  15. sh@de

    sh@de Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,979
    LOL that is soooo mean. Interesting facts, although I see nothing but some random coincidences.
     
    #15
  16. alchn

    alchn New User

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    yeah, it would be rather dumb to use a system with such ridiculous error margin, if we would believe him. Might as well roll a dice?
     
    #16
  17. TheNatural

    TheNatural Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,879
    #17
  18. LPShanet

    LPShanet Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,618
    Everyone has already corrected you on the 5 inch bit, but no one bothered to also correct your error that an ump can't overrule a hawkeye call. In fact, an umpire CAN if he deems it appropriate, but most don't.

    The stat about various players' accuracy is not an indication of how good their eyes are, though, since some players challenge balls they know are probably in, based on the situation. It's more a reflection of "how" they challenge calls than "how accurately".
     
    #18
  19. The-Champ

    The-Champ Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,541
    Location:
    Sweden
    #19
  20. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    No, the umpire CAN'T overrule a Hawkeye decision. The Hawkeye decision is final.

    In case that's not enough, here is from the 2009 ATP Rulebook under the electronic review section.

    9)
    The decision of the electronic review is final and cannot be appealed.

     
    #20
  21. LPShanet

    LPShanet Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,618
    You've also misinterpreted the rules as stated. An electronic ruling can not be appealed, meaning a PLAYER can not appeal it, and it stands as final when referenced by an official. But the umpire can overrule it if he believes there was a technological error, just as has always been the case with Cyclops.
     
    #21
  22. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    No, you have misinterpreted the part that says "The decision of the electronic review is final."

    Also, if there is a malfunction with the system, and the electronic review is unavailable, the original call stands.
     
    #22
  23. colonelforbin

    colonelforbin Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    U.S.
    Well sometimes players challenge the last point of a set for the heck of it because they have a challenge to burn, even when they know they lost the point. This would skew these stats by lowering their percentage and saying they have "bad eyes" when in fact their eyes in this case were fine, they just challenged for the heck of it.
     
    #23
  24. MajinX

    MajinX Professional

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,185
    Location:
    Toronto
    ... do u even know how much 5 inches is... thats like 3 tennis balls.
     
    #24
  25. Lionheart392

    Lionheart392 Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    England
    Not sure about this myself but on another point, I remember last year in the final of the US Open between Jankovic and Williams, the umpire decided to use hawkeye to verify a call, and didn't ask Serena to use one of her challenges :confused:
    The commentators seemed quite baffled by it, as did I.
     
    #25
  26. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    That was because the line umpire was blocked by the player, and the ball was on the far sideline, so it was too close for the chair umpire to decide. When that happens, the umpire may request the electronic review. That is the only time the chair umpire can request the review.

    Electronic Review Rule:

    8.) If there is no call made from the on-court officials (unsighted line umpire and chair
    umpire cannot make the call) on a point ending shot, the chair umpire may call for
    a review and the result of the review will not affect the remaining challenges of
    either player.
     
    #26
  27. Lionheart392

    Lionheart392 Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    England
    Ah, interesting! Thanks for that.
     
    #27
  28. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    YW..
    10char
     
    #28
  29. jrod

    jrod Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Exactly. This statistic is essentially meaningless. The conclusion that Djoko, Rafa and Fed have good eyes should be apparent to anyone with eyes.
     
    #29
  30. Raoul_Duke

    Raoul_Duke Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    979
    Location:
    Gonzoland


    Seems like Roger can't win ANY these days ...
     
    #30
  31. LPShanet

    LPShanet Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,618
    Actually, at the ATP umpire briefings (one of which I recently attended), they ask the umpires to invoke 10 d) if they believe the system isn't functioning correctly, using the section that reads: "In this case, the chair umpire shall immediately notify both players that review is not available until further notice. " and provide the call themselves.
     
    #31
  32. Nanshiki

    Nanshiki Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,285
    fwiw, if the average error is 3.6, basic statistics says that the error is almost never going to be much bigger than let's say, 6 mm or so, which is still much more reliable and accurate than a linesman...

    I'd take a Hawkeye call over an incompetent linesman with a sometimes-obscured view of the ball any day.

    Hell, I saw some bad calls at the Davis Cup when I was 150 yards away (I've got 20/15 with contacts), even though the linesman was 10 yards away...
     
    #32
  33. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    You obviously weren't paying attention to the whole discussion then.

    10d. is part of the Review Official's responsibilities, not the chair umpire's. That is saying that if there is a problem with the system that is causing it to not have the review, then the review official is to let the chair umpire know, who in turn will let the players know that Hawkeye has been turned off until it is repaired. In that case, the calls on court stand be it the line umpire's call or the chair umpire's overrule. This is not a case of the chair umpire overruling Hawkeye.

    10)
    A certified official, approved by the ATP supervisor, shall act as the review official*
    and his duties shall include, but are not limited to:

    a.
    Determining which impact shall be reviewed by the system.

    b.
    Act as the final authority on tracking the number of challenges each player has
    remaining.

    c.
    Monitor the system to ensure that it is functioning properly.

    d.
    Notify the chair umpire immediately in the case of a system failure or any other
    condition that prohibits or brings into question the ability of the system to
    review a challenged call. In this case, the chair umpire shall immediately notify
    both players that review is not available until further notice.


     
    #33
  34. Tony48

    Tony48 Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6,896
    Um, I think the UMPIRE corrects "obvious" wrong line calls. And if you've ever seen Djokovic challenge calls, he frequently challenges extremely close calls.
     
    #34
  35. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    And, btw, which supposed "umpire briefings" did you attend? I am not going to say I don't believe you because you may work for ATP and have been at the end of the year meeting, or something like that. I am just curious, because you are arguing this rule with someone who knows a bit about it.
     
    #35
  36. LPShanet

    LPShanet Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,618
    As "someone who knows a bit about it", how did they tell you situations in which Hawkeye made a clearly visible error (which happened with alarming frequency during the trial period, and quite a few times since) were to be handled? I only know what I heard as a response, when that question was asked by more than one umpire.
     
    #36
  37. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    The review official in the booth upstairs sees the review before it is put on the video board. If it is obvious that the image is not of that shot in question, or if there is a malfunction, the review official is to let us know that the review is unavailable. Once the review is shown on the screen, unless a gross mistake is made and the image on the screen shows a baseline shot, and the questioned call was on the sideline, the decision of Hawkeye is final. If that huge mistake happens, then the decision would be that the original call stands. The chair umpire MAY NOT overrule Hawkeye's decision.
     
    #37
  38. NamRanger

    NamRanger G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    13,916


    Testing on accuracy was done by Hawk-Eye themselves, not by independent testers. For all we know, Hawk-Eye could have a much bigger margin for error.
     
    #38
  39. jelle v

    jelle v Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,978
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Interesting.. I hadn't expected that at all. I would expect Nadal to be at the top with 60% or so, then Djokovic and then Federer. :-?
     
    #39
  40. LPShanet

    LPShanet Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,618
    There appears to be a contradiction here. If there is a huge mistake, and the umpire decides that the original call stands, he/she has just overruled Hawkeye. Obviously they won't allow the "Ljubicic incident" to happen again.
     
    #40
  41. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    That is different than overruling Hawkeye. My interpretation of what you were saying originally was that the chair umpire can overrule the decision of Hawkeye because he sees the ball differently than the review.

    What I am saying is, that the original call stands if there is an obvious malfunction with the system.
     
    #41

Share This Page