Djokovic vs. Murray - Did the umpire miss this call?

Discussion in 'Odds & Ends' started by jmnk, Oct 24, 2012.

  1. jmnk

    jmnk Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    982
    There are multiple threads over the years about a rule on a ball hitting singles sticks, net posts, etc. Per rule book, the rules are:
    "2. PERMANENT FIXTURES
    The permanent fixtures of the court include the backstops and sidestops, the
    spectators, the stands and seats for spectators, all other fixtures around and above the
    court, the chair umpire, line umpires, net umpire and ball persons when in their
    recognised positions.
    In a singles match played with a doubles net and singles sticks, the net posts and the
    part of the net outside the singles sticks are permanent fixtures and are not
    considered as net posts or part of the net."
    and
    "13. BALL TOUCHES A PERMANENT FIXTURE
    If the ball in play touches a permanent fixture after it has hit the correct court, the
    player who hit the ball wins the point. If the ball in play touches a permanent fixture
    before it hits the ground, the player who hit the ball loses the point."

    so in Djokovic vs. Murray match in Shanghai, at 1:1 in the third set, second point, Murray clearly hits the net outside singles sticks. And he wins a point. Why is that?
    See the video here:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vd6KZisXqbw&t=7m40s

    Woodrow?
     
    #1
  2. jmnk

    jmnk Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    982
    anybody? no comments?
     
    #2
  3. librarysteg

    librarysteg Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,411
    Location:
    IL
    I remember thinking the same thing when it happened.
     
    #3
  4. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,648
    Yep. Umpire missed it.
     
    #4
  5. jmnk

    jmnk Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    982
    is that as simple as that? So neither the umpire, nor the players knew (since no one was protesting) what the rule was? It's just hard to believe....
     
    #5
  6. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,648
    The umpire knows the rule, but missed the call. It's not the easiest one to see. YOu know it hits the net, but you sit there for a split second saying to yourself "was that outside of the singles stick?" Then it's too late, and you can't call it if you're not completely sure.

    The players probably don't know the rule.
     
    #6
  7. Bobby Jr

    Bobby Jr Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,334
    It should have been Djokovic's point clearly... but, as Woodrow says, in the moment the umpire may have missed where it struck the net.

    Murray should have know and called it, or he loses all rights to criticise Berdych for the "your hat fell off and distracted me" scenario which happened a while back.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2012
    #7
  8. rk_sports

    rk_sports Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,601
    Location:
    soCal
    "In a singles match played with a doubles net and singles sticks, the net posts and the
    part of the net outside the singles sticks are permanent fixtures and are not
    considered as net posts or part of the net."


    ah! that's interesting.. I did not know of that rule.. good catch
     
    #8
  9. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,648
    The other interesting part of that rule is that In a singles match played with a doubles net and singles sticks, if the PLAYER touches the net post or the part of the net outside the singles stick, he DOES NOT lose the point. As it is a permanent fixture, play continues.
     
    #9
  10. Avles

    Avles Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,505
    Location:
    The Peak of Good Living
    This seems like it would be an extremely difficult call on a ball (or a player) that touched the net close to the stick.

    Do you think you'd be able to reliably tell if it was inside or outside?
     
    #10
  11. rk_sports

    rk_sports Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,601
    Location:
    soCal
    #11

Share This Page