Double bounces

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by nhat8121, May 4, 2014.

  1. nhat8121

    nhat8121 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    when it's really close and not sure if double bounces or not...who gets to make the call?
     
    #1
  2. JLyon

    JLyon Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,341
    Location:
    AR
    you can only make the call on yourself, the opponent in an unofficiated match can not call a double bounce ("not up"
     
    #2
  3. nhat8121

    nhat8121 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    usta, no refs, the one going for the ball has the call?
     
    #3
  4. SweetH2O

    SweetH2O Rookie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    Powder Springs, GA
    Yes.

    10notups
     
    #4
  5. Mongolmike

    Mongolmike Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    966
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yep, it's an honor call. Their honor call.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think the following are also instances where it is only the opponents call to make if:

    -they are very close to the net and make a play on a ball that you aren't sure has actually crossed the net or not... it's their call if they broke the vertical plane of the net.

    -You fire a shot at them and you think it hit them or their clothes... it's their call.

    -they are very close at the net making a play and you think their racquet (or their hand, or foot) touched the net before the point was over... it's their call.
     
    #5
  6. kevrol

    kevrol Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    298
    I think the only call you can make that happens on the opponent's side of the court is a foot fault.
     
    #6
  7. beernutz

    beernutz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,411
    Location:
    expanding my Ignore List
    These events happen on the opponent's side of the net, at least the second one clearly does, but you make the call.

    20. Balls hit through net or into ground. A player makes the ruling on a ball that
    the player’s opponent hits:
    • Through the net; or
    • Into the ground before it goes over the net

    It seems odd that the rules allow a player to claim that another player's shot hit the ground before going over the net when that event occurs on the other side of the net given that like you said almost every other infraction that occurs on the other side of the net is the responsibility of the other player (or team) to call on themselves.
     
    #7
  8. MisterP

    MisterP Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    460
    I hate this situation. It seems like you should always be able to tell whether the ball *you're* hitting has bounced twice or not. But, I have had it happen to me a half a dozen times where it was so close that I really don't know. I usually give them the point in that case, which is frustrating.
     
    #8
  9. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    Close, but there is another exception.

    You make the call if your opponent strikes the ball and it hits a permanent fixture on their side of the court while it is on its way to you (e.g. ceiling of bubble).
     
    #9

Share This Page