Doubles 12-point Tiebreaker Question

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by Bud, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. Bud

    Bud Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    31,167
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    The scenario:

    A and B are team 1
    C and D are team 2


    1st set:

    Team 1 wins the toss and A elects to serve first
    A has also chosen to play the deuce court for team 1
    D has chosen to play the deuce court for team 2 (and will serve first for team 2)


    So, this is the setup for set #1: (small grey number indicates serving order)

    A1 | B3 ..(team 1 serving)
    -------
    C4 | D2 ..(team 2 receiving)


    ** Score is now 6-6 and a TB shall be played **


    1st set TB:

    It's now A's turn to serve the 1st TB point (13th game)

    Normally, A would serve the first point to D (as D played the deuce court in set #1)


    - - - - - - - - - -


    Question:

    Must D receive the first point in the 1st set TB (since D played the deuce court during set #1)?

    or can C and D switch court positions before the 1st set TB commences?



    In other words, below would be the 1st set TB point configuration if C and D switched court positions: (small grey number indicates serving order)

    A1 | B3
    -------
    D2 | C4
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2010
    #1
  2. justsomeguy

    justsomeguy Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    Wow, that is a lot to take in. I think this is what you are asking about.

    USTAComment 15.2: May a doubles team switch its receiving
    order at the beginning of any set or Match Tiebreak?

    Yes. There is no requirement that any doubles team retain the same receiving order for a new set or Match Tiebreak.
     
    #2
  3. Bud

    Bud Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    31,167
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    So, then you must retain the same receiving order for a set TB, correct?

    If D was the initial receiver for team 2 (during set #1)... then, during the set #1 TB, D must receive every point of the TB on the deuce side (from both A and B).
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2010
    #3
  4. slice bh compliment

    slice bh compliment G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    10,032
    Yes. Since the TB is a part of that set, receivers must stick to their sides until the next set.
     
    #4
  5. mikeler

    mikeler G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,698
    Location:
    Central Florida

    Yep, since you indicated the question was for the 1st set then this is correct. Like somebody said above, a Match tiebreak is different because it is considered a new set so the other team could switch receiving positions in that case.
     
    #5

Share This Page