In "The Art of Doubles", Pat Blaskower gives as one of the fundamental rules that you shouldn't hit behind yourself on the poach. ie if you're the server's partner and the receiver hits a crosscourt shot which you poach, then your volley should not be back towards the receiver's side. I've been following this advice for a while, and would volley down towards the feet of the receiver's partner, but sometimes I'd be stretching for the poach and not get quite enough power and placement on it and the receiver's partner would be able to volley or half volley into the space behind me. I'm talking about balls that are not driven really really hard, but are say 6-12 inches above the net and you're getting really close to the net and hitting down on them. After watching one of the Bryan brother's doubles from Wimbledon, I was seeing quite a lot of hitting behind themselves on that poach, but on a very sharp angle behind themselves for a clean winner. Is this "don't hit behind yourself" rule only for deep volleys? What are the disadvantages of going for the sharp angle behind yourself?