Doubles receiving rule

Discussion in 'Odds & Ends' started by swing hard, Dec 19, 2009.

  1. swing hard

    swing hard New User

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Just wanted to see if anyone else has any experience in the kind of receiving that I have played with. So the rule that I can find here is that the receiving team decides which side they play and then stick to that side.

    http://www.**********.com/links/rules/rules.htm#R36

    On the other hand, I have also played doubles where if X, Y and A, B were playing, with X serving, A will return the first serve and with Y serving, B will receive first. Essentially, there is a rotation that is carried out during the set on both ends.

    Since I have not been able to find that rule on the internet, I am trying to see if anybody here knows of it.

    Thanks
     
    #1
  2. psp2

    psp2 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,102
    #1... wrong section for the post. #2 Link doesn't work.

    Basically in doubles, any one can serve first at the beginning of a new set (including a super tie breaker in lieu of 3rd set).

    And, you can switch receiving position at the beginning of a new set, but you must remain in that position (ad side or deuce side) for the duration of that set.
     
    #2

Share This Page