What the correct rule on serving in doubles and hitting the opponent net player? The reason behind this is because I serve wide angled slice serve that spins into the T and the receiver has a lot of trouble taking it. However, their net player decided to stand right in by the net in the middle of the court (a la Australian doubles style). So now he is in the middle of the travel path of the ball when i hit on the T, which means whenever I serve to the T, it'll hit him. We argue about the rule and decided to just keep taking over. Over time I ended up slowly serving wide angled so I don't have to hit him. Anyhow, we still won the match despite losing that option, but I would like know what is the official rule regarding hitting the opposing net player when serving?