Doubles: Serve hit opponent net player

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by Peter_Chiu, Feb 22, 2009.

  1. LeeD

    LeeD Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    36,414
    Location:
    East side of San Francisco Bay
    The Great Audio...
    Did'nt I mentioned the scenario where ArtLarsen backed off the court completely while I was in my service motion? Happenned to be a second serve. Neither he nor his partner signalled for a halt in play, and if I was dumb enough to just hit my normal second serve, it MIGHT have been out. But I didn't do that. Instead, I hit a sure slow, serve into empty court.
    Yes, I can adjust on the fly. Also, middle of groundie swing, I can see you charging, staying static, or moving backwards.
    Damn the torpedoes, FULL SPEED AHEAD !!
     
    #51
  2. TheGreatestAudia

    TheGreatestAudia Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ah, gotcha. I apologize mate!
     
    #52
  3. TheGreatestAudia

    TheGreatestAudia Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Georgia
    That scenario is a tad different. He was completely off the court. Not adjusting his position to get a better crack at your "torpedoes". Call me cynical but, I don't think you/anyone not a pro can change that much midswing. Pros can get away with holding their swing until the last possible second but they don't do it every swing and on top of that, it is a problem if you are continuously watching your opponent and not putting enough energy into playing "your" game.
     
    #53
  4. LeeD

    LeeD Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    36,414
    Location:
    East side of San Francisco Bay
    I thought you said mid toss, not mid swing.
    I toss the ball first, and THEN I start my swing motion. There's a lag time that I use to do my calculus homework atop my algebra.
     
    #54
  5. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    Will someone stop egging him on!
     
    #55
  6. LeeD

    LeeD Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    36,414
    Location:
    East side of San Francisco Bay
    Yes, those muchie breakfast burritos were sooo yummie and nice....lotsa eggs, some sausage pieces, some chemical to make me last a lifetime:):)
     
    #56
  7. albino smurf

    albino smurf Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Location:
    In a cloud of yellow fuzz
    I was at net on the ad side, out by the alley.The serve was to the deuce side. The ball hit me on the fly and we were awarded the point by the ump. It might have been a second serve, honestly the whole thing threw me off as I had not expected to get hit standing fifteen feet away from the appropriate service box.
     
    #57
  8. raiden031

    raiden031 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    5,997
    Looks like the ump cheated your opponents.
     
    #58
  9. Strings And Things

    Strings And Things Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    Think about it. Let's say that the ruling would be a fault in the case if a serve were to hit the net, then hit the receiver's partner on the fly. Now logically, does that seem fair to you?

    If I were on the receiving team playing net and anticipated a would-be let in order to purposely touch it to force a fault, would that seem fair to you? No.

    To be fair and square, that's the logic behind the ruling. It would be a let ruling.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2009
    #59
  10. DennisK

    DennisK Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    636
    Location:
    County Durham. England.
    This scenario reminds me of something that happened to me in a mens club doubles match last year.

    I was serving quite well on the day and hitting good flat serves down the T on the deuce side consistently. Anyway, one of the guys on the opposing side who I know quite well, decides to play funny buggers and gets right up close to the middle of the net and crouches down behind it in a bid to put me off. Anyway, he can't quite crouch down far enough so the very top of his head is still protruding by about 3 inches about the net tape. :twisted:

    I warn the guy that I can still see the top of his head and that if he doesn't move, then I'm going to aim for it. He tosses me a grin that says "as if" :p

    So i wind up a nice big flat serve, smack it and it hits him plumb off the top of his head and flies over the the back fence of the courts!

    In all of my remaining years, i don't think I'll ever hit a more accurate serve. :roll:
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2009
    #60
  11. equinox

    equinox Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,223
    Location:
    Cocos Islands, WA
    nice one dennisk.
    I can do a similar action, but i give no prior warnings and it's my partner that gets the headache. :)
     
    #61
  12. DennisK

    DennisK Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    636
    Location:
    County Durham. England.
    Oh, i've done that before too. :roll:
     
    #62
  13. DirtBaller4

    DirtBaller4 Rookie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Norwalk, CT
    Javier you are just another ALL KNOWING forum master aren't you? I have seen good advice from LeeD in the past and he is never condescending like you are. Why are the tennis forums so full of rude people like you?

    Do you think you are the man when you slam someone? Save it for the courts buddy!
     
    #63
  14. Overdrive

    Overdrive Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,301
    Location:
    Garden of Gethsemane
    Usually. it's 'Busch League' to intentionally hit an opposing net player when serving. However, this tennis jargon is thrown out the window if the opposing net player intentionally stands near the box where the receiver is to intimidate the opponent for serving down the T.
     
    #64
  15. Avles

    Avles Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,505
    Location:
    The Peak of Good Living
    Astute analysis from Moses Man in this thread-- 4+ years later and nothing has changed...
     
    #65
  16. amorris525

    amorris525 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    How is this a 4 page thread.
     
    #66
  17. Dimcorner

    Dimcorner Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    814
    way to bring back a 4 year old thread!
     
    #67
  18. RetroSpin

    RetroSpin Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,880
    Agreed. I wouldn't intentionally aim for the receiver's partner, no matter where he was standing. A serve in the eye can cause serious damage, with a big lawsuit to follow.
     
    #68
  19. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    that big lawsuit would be a big loser for the plaintiff.

     
    #69
  20. RetroSpin

    RetroSpin Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,880
    Maybe, but if it was obvious you were aiming for him, maybe not. There could even be criminal ramifications. It's an act that is outside the generally accepted risks of play.

    It's tennis, not war. I am not going to aim for someone on serve. I'm not going to aim away from them if they are crowding the Tee either.
     
    #70
  21. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Considering that there is nothing in the rules prohibiting hitting the ball at someone during play (in fact you win the point if you do hit a player on the other side of the net), I would say it is not outside the generally accepted risks of play.

    But maybe someone like Fearsome Forehand could give some input here.
     
    #71

Share This Page