Forgot to ask this! My opponent tossed the ball on a serve...

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by GoSurfBoy, May 24, 2010.

  1. GoSurfBoy

    GoSurfBoy Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    603
    ...and he decided not to hit it (windy), and as he ducked, the ball hit him on the way down...

    Decision? Is that like me getting hit on the fly? Is that considered 'in play', or?

    Just curious, as I beat him anyway, but was just wondering about this.

    Thanks
     
    #1
  2. SoBad

    SoBad Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    8,117
    Location:
    shiran
    he gets first serve by the rules, is that what the decision was?
     
    #2
  3. GoSurfBoy

    GoSurfBoy Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    603
    Never questioned it. I was just kind of curious that he threw the ball in the air, and it bounced off his back on the way down.

    And that made me wonder if that was considered an 'in play' type of scenario?

    I didn't care. I'm never going to call anything like that save blatant cheating (and I'm always like if I can't make an instant decision on a line call, then it's good, and if not 100% certain it's out, then it's good).

    It just made me wonder what a decision would have been if the roving ump' had seen it.
     
    #3
  4. HunterST

    HunterST Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,412
    Nope. As long as you don't swing at it the ball can touch you.
     
    #4
  5. GoSurfBoy

    GoSurfBoy Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    603
    Cool. Thanks. I'd never seen it happen, so I was just wondering....
     
    #5
  6. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    It would be the same as if he were to just catch it on the racket or in his hand. As long as he doesn't make an attempt to hit the serve, it's not a fault.

    However, if he swung and missed completely, it would be a fault.
     
    #6

Share This Page